Social Life

My weekend was busier than usual. It technically started for me on Thursday night, and though it ended on Saturday, I still did some stuff Sunday night even though I worked, so I’m counting all those days for my weekend.

Thursday while I was at work, Gina got off before me. She was at home and some of our friends came over, and she sent me a text message suggesting that I pick up some beer. So after work I deposited my check and went and bought a 30-box of beer. Howard and Mouse were at the house, and we got down to business. Mouse had to leave early, but John showed up shortly thereafter. We started talking about two things you aren’t supposed to talk about: Politics and Religion. I believe John’s the one that brought it up, but we continued regardless. It was good fun though, as I always enjoy an intelligent conversation, even though drinking tends to dumb things down. Anyhow, timed slipped by, and the guys didn’t end up leaving until 6 a.m., and I was up for probably another hour. So I slept a large portion of Friday away.

I think I got up around 2. Gina went to work after that, and I started up EQ2. I’ve been playing my main a lot more lately, trying to gear him up so he can MT when I get my guild going. Almost had that happen, but one of the people that agreed to help me make the guild flaked on me. Anyway, I’ve been doing Castle Mistmoore class pant runs, and though we’ve made it to the sage with no problems, camping gets really boring. The one time we killed him, it dropped a lame mana tap cloak, no pants for us 😦 I also did a Crypt of Valdoon run for my set bracers, but no dice there either (wizzy bracers dropped). Gina got home at 8 and I intended to just play EQ with her, but she suggested we find something to do.

We ended up ordering a pizza and calling Jeff and Kristy to see what they were doing. They said they would come over after they got off of work. They showed up with Emilio at around 1 a.m. I intended to play some cards, but we ended up just sitting around drinking. I bought another 18 pack of beer since we polished off the previous night’s 30 pack pretty quickly. Jeff got into an accident earlier in the day, and he said he was sore so Gina gave him a darvocet and he passed out. We ended up drinking until around 5 when they took off and we went to bed.

On Saturday Gina woke me up at 11 and told me she was going out with Kristy for some wedding shit (Kristy and Jeff are getting married in Sept). I couldn’t go back to sleep after being woken up, so I ended up logging onto EQ again. One of the people I grouped with the night before wanted to do another sage run, so I agreed. We had just killed the PH and were waiting on the next spawn when Gina got home and said that Kristy and Jeff were going to San Diego and they wanted us to come along. Not having been out of town for a long while, I agreed.

So I logged off and got ready and waited for them to show up. Jeff got a rental car, a dodge stratus (I DRIVE A DODGE STRATUS!!! — what’s that from?), and he said he would drive. Even for being a brand new car, it was uncomfortable as hell, and Jeff wouldn’t let us smoke in it, so that was annoying too. We made one stop on the way to San Diego, picking up something to drink in Temecula.

The plan was to eat at a particular restaurant, then go to The Whaley House, the nearby Graveyard, and then just mess around in Old Town. We stopped at the restaurant first, because none of us had eaten yet and we were all starving. It was a mexican restaurant, and the name escapes me now. Jeff raved about the food, and we ordered and I thought the food was average, not great. Everyone was loving it, and I just thought it was ok. They all got big margaritas, and I got an iced tea. After I ate, a beer did sound appealing, so I ordered a Corona. After everyone was finished we headed out, and down to Old Town. We passed by The Whaley House, but Jeff didn’t want to go inside until it was dark, so we went down to the cemetary. The cemetary was old, very small, and the city had built part of the road right over where graves were located, all marked with a small black disc that read “Grave Site”. So some of the dead are walked and driven on daily. Kind of sad. We read some of the information posted near the graves, but nothing spooky happened. We then moved on to the Whaley House.

The Whaley House is a historical landmark, no. 68 I believe it was. It is one of two buildings in California that are recognized by the Federal Government as being legit haunted houses. Overall, the house wasn’t spooky, mostly just cool because it was old. It smelled old. The decor was old. It was pretty neat, almost like visiting a museum. We went through to various rooms and checked things out, and it was fun. The house had a couple bedrooms, and large living room, a courthouse attached to it, and a play house rented out on the second story. It was truly an attraction back in the days that it was occupied by the family. The courthouse had literature to read (historical facts, and strange occurances), some pictures (most of which were pretty creepy), and chairs to sit in to take in all of the information. Apparently the house was built on the exact site where a tree stood, where a man was hung for his crimes. One of the stories was about this man, and that on the 11th step of the stair case, you can feel him try to strangle you, allegedly making you feel what he felt. This didn’t work for me, but Jeff swore he felt it. The only strange thing that happened to me was when I entered the first room of the house, I got strangely light headed. This lasted through most of our time in the house, then it suddenly went away.

We left the House and went over to a outdoor bar nearby. We had a few drinks and then wandered through the shops in old town. At around 10:30, we decided it was time to go home. We stopped at Jeff’s house so he could pick up his rum, and then we headed to our house, where we drank for the rest of the night, and this time played cards. We also played with the Oujia board again, but only one interesting thing happened. A man named Jack, who claimed to be Gina’s Grandpa, said he lived in our house, and protected her from this presence she swears she feels when I’m not around. He also said he knew my “spirit guide” from my last post about the oujia board, the woman named Fran. He said Fran lied to me about that, and that she is really an evil spirit. It was pissing me off, but who knows what’s what when playing with that thing. Eventually we all went to sleep.

I woke up yesterday at 2. I hung around for a bit, and soon enough it was time to go to work. Work was uneventful, to say the least. I ran into Ted, and he let me borrow the Aqua Teen Hunger Force Colon Movie Film for Theaters DVD, and I watched that when I got off work. It was the 2-disc special edition, so after watching the movie I checked out some of the extras, which included deleted scenes, the movie with the deleted scenes intact, some fake endings, and some other crap. It was all good shit, and now I need to buy that.

Today, I have work in a little bit. I plan to play some EQ tonight, and otherwise, I just hope work isn’t too boring. That’s all for now.Â