So Long, River

vu0alIt is a sad day today. The blogosphere (and Twitter) were notified that one of our fellow bloggers passed away yesterday. Christopher “River” Cavelle, who runs the blog “A High Latency Life” was taken from us at the young age of 41. Being only ten years older than me, it puts a lot into perspective. The scantily clad woman pictured has nothing to do with anything, aside from being his trademark. He would put pictures like this in posts that had nothing to do with women at all. I think that he did it in part to be controversial, but I can’t say that I knew him for very long. We just recently started linking between each other, during the NBI (or perhaps slightly before it).

Little is known about the circumstances surrounding his death at this point, but it really doesn’t matter. What matters is that someone from our community has passed away, and the community as a whole is suffering for it. I’m amazed at the amount of people affected by this, and it’s good to know that we have built something stronger than a bunch of people writing blogs. People have actually formed connections and have genuine emotion about this passing. It’s more than just writing. We’re friends.

I would like to pass my condolences to the remaining family. I hope that his passing was swift and painless.

Goodbye River. You will be missed.

One thought on “So Long, River

Comments are closed.