By The Numbers: Wildcard Weekend 2018

With the Packers out of playoff contention as of a couple of weeks ago, my interest in the playoffs themselves is pretty limited this year. Like last year, it’s a strange new feeling for me as a Packers fan, who went to the playoffs for eight years straight prior to 2017-18. With that said, I’m still going to try and watch some of them and I’ll keep making my picks so that I can get my season summary done by the end of the season. Let’s check my picks for Week 17:

Dolphins 24, Bills 21
Packers 27, Lions 20
Texans 28, Jags 17 – Correct
Patriots 24, Jets 7 – Correct
Saints 30, Panthers 21
Cowboys 23, Giants 20 – Correct
Falcons 21, Buccs 14 – Correct
Browns 21, Ravens 20
Chiefs 31, Raiders 13 – Correct
Bears 27, Vikings 23 – Correct
Steelers 23, Bengals 13 – Correct
Eagles 20, Redskins 10 – Correct
Chargers 17, Broncos 13 – Correct 
Rams 28, 49ers 10 – Correct
Seahawks 20, Cardinals 17 – Correct
Colts 21, Titans 14 – Correct

Well, that was one of my better weeks of the season. 12-4 is the record I wish my team had. This brings my season score to 147-116. Not bad, and probably a marked improvement over last year, but I did miss some picks last year whereas I was pretty religious about it this time around. With that said, I’m going to make my wildcard weekend picks just before the weekend starts:

Wildcard Picks:

Texans 30, Colts 24
Cowboys 21, Seahawks 20
Ravens 28, Chargers 24
Bears 27, Eagles 21

I hate picking the Cowboys to win anything in the post season, but they are the lesser of two evils in this case. The Seachickens have been a thorn in my side for too long. I couldn’t bring myself to pick the Chargers despite being the better team on paper, because being a Southern California resident, I’ve known far too many frothing-at-the-mouth fans of that team and I am disgusted. Lastly, it pains me to pick our rival Bears to win a game, but I don’t think the Eagles have the magic to get to the Super Bowl two years in a row, and the Bears have had a great year, perhaps they deserve it after a very long drought.

That’s all for now. I’ll check in next week to make my Divisional round picks. Until then.