By The Numbers: Week 11, 2014

bythenumbers

I know you guys saw that stellar performance by the Packers on Sunday night right? I had a conversation with a friend on Facebook about how good the Packers looked in that game, and we were just enjoying our favorite team putting a whupping on the Bears, enjoying the fandom. All of a sudden a wild Browns fan appears and starts demeaning our experience by saying that the Bears have sucked all year (they have) and that it’s not like we (the packers) are like the Browns who have (all of a sudden) become a decent team. My response was along the lines of  “yeah, they’re decent but even if they make the playoffs they’ll be one and done.” I believe that too. And them making the playoffs is still a big if. Later I thought more about it and realized, the Browns have had something like 20 years of high draft picks. And I’m talking top 10 all those years. Of course they’re going to get good some day, that’s what the draft system is designed to do. Some teams (like the Packers) have had lower draft picks for those 20 years, and still have managed to draft and develop and remain competitive. So yeah, fuck you Browns fan. Anyway, on to my picks for week 11:

Thursday Night

Buffalo Bills vs. Miami Dolphins

In the division I don’t care about and typically expect the Patriots to win, I see the fins taking the cake on this one, though it feasibly could go either way.

Dolphins 27, Bills 14

Sunday

Atlanta Falcons vs. Carolina Panthers

Another snoozer, in which the Falcons get a win because the Panthers are sad and Cam Newton actually needs to be benched (rested).

Falcons 21, Panthers 7

Minnesota Vikings vs. Chicago Bears

I really don’t think that the Bears are going to do that well, but then again I don’t see them doing as poorly against the Vikes. Still, Vikings take it in the end.

Vikings 28, Bears 13

Houston Texans vs. Cleveland Browns

I’m sticking with picking the Browns because the Texans are in the midst of another shit season. Get a QB and you might go places guys.

Browns 17, Texans 3

Seattle Seahawks vs. Kansas City Chiefs

I’m hard pressed to pick against the Seahawks in this matchup, but I want to see them lose and drop out of the playoff race altogether. I also think Kansas City is pretty good. I like seeing Smith lead a team to something more than mediocrity, especially to the chagrin of 9er fans.

Chiefs 24, Seachickens 17

Cincinnati Bengals vs. New Orleans Saints

I don’t see the Bengals doing much for the rest of the season. I know the Saints are fired up after that last minute loss last week. Brees gets it done.

Saints 20, Bengals 10

San Francisco 49ers vs. New York Giants

The Giants are known for shitty Octobers and decently good Novembers and Decembers, usually culminating with a streak through the playoffs to the Super Bowl — or falling short of a wild card spot and trying again next year. They also have a knack for knocking off the other good teams in the NFC, but losing to the shitty ones. I think they eek out a win here.

Giants 21, 49ers 17

Denver Broncos vs. St. Louis Rams

Broncos win. Nuff said.

Broncos 38, Rams 13

Tampa Bay Buccaneers vs. Washington Redskins

I have no idea here. Both teams suck. Both teams could win it. Both could lose it. You see what I did there?

Skins 17, Bucs 13

Oakland Raiders vs. San Diego Chargers

I can see Oakland getting its first win… or losing as horribly as they have all year. I’m voting upset.

Raiders 21, Chargers 20

Detroit Lions vs Arizona Cardinals

I have a hard time calling this one in favor of the Cards due to their QB getting injured. However, I really need them to win so I’m picking them to favor that.

Cards 24, Lions 21

Philadelphia Eagles vs. Green Bay Packers

We’ve not had much trouble with Mark Sanchez, but that’s when he played for the Jets, and they’re not the team they were when he lead them to the playoffs twice. Now he’s on the Eagles, and they are a better team. However, I think with the ball hawking we’ve been doing, he throws a couple of picks and we take over from there.

Packers 31, Eagles 17

New England Patriots vs. Indianapolis Colts

A hard one to choose for 2 of the 3 best teams in the AFC. I don’t think Brady let’s the newbie win, but stranger things have happened.

Patriots 27, Colts 20

Monday Night

Pittsburgh Steelers vs. Tennessee Titans

I feel like the schedule maker for the NFL wants to give me reasons to watch less football. Because unless you’re a fan of either team, you don’t want to watch this game. Hell, fans of the Titans probably don’t want to watch it either. Blowout win for Pitt.

Steelers 31, Titans 10

#NFL #Picks #Bythenumbers