By the Numbers: Week 9, 2014

I managed to get my correct picks up from my previous high of 10 out of 15 to 11 out of 15 this last week. Not bad, though I wish the Packers would have won their game (biased) and a couple of those other incorrect picks seemed to come from out of nowhere. That’s ok though, as this week there’s only 13 games, and my Packers are on a bye week, so I can relax and not have to worry about my team losing, along with having the possibility of a higher correct percentage due to less games played. So without further ado, here’s my picks for week 9 of the 2014 NFL season:

New Orleans Saints vs. Carolina Panthers

Man those Saints really came out in the second half last weekend. I really don’t want to give them credit for that, because it was mostly due to Rodgers pulling his hamstring and a couple of volleyball passes off receivers hands that got picked off, but it is what it is. The Saints won in the end, and that’s what counts. I still don’t think Carolina is a good team, despite having done so well last year, so I think the Saints take advantage of the steam produced from their previous win. Plus, it’s the day before Halloween and black cats have bad luck round that time.

Saints 31, Panthers 17

Jacksonville Jaguars vs. Cincinnatti Bengals

If I were feeling froggy I might pick the Jags to upset the Bengals. I’m not feeling it though, the Tigers want to win.

Bengals 21, Jags 7

Tampa Bay Buccaneers vs. Cleveland Browns

I’m going to go with the Browns, because they feel like a better team than the Bucs, despite both teams being bottom echelon.

Browns 17, Bucs 10

Arizona Cardinals vs. Dallas Cowboys

The Cowboys showed they aren’t invincible last week and Romo was out of the game for a while with some sort of injury. Perhaps that injury affects his game this week, or maybe we’ll just see how much better of a team the Cardinals are. Either way I’d like to see the Cards on top of their division and for the Seachickens and 9ers  to be out of the playoffs.

Cards 27, Cowboys 21

Philadelphia Eagles vs. Houston Texans

I just don’t see the Texans doing it against the Eggles.

Eagles 24, Texans 10

New York Jets vs. Kansas City Chiefs

I think Vick is starting? I don’t think Rex Ryan has any clue what to do with his team. He just can’t win at QB. Chiefs take it.

Chiefs 17, Jets 3

San Diego Chargers vs. Miami Dolphins

I really don’t think the Chargers will lose this one… but I could be wrong. I’ll take my chances. Fins lose.

Chargers 31, Dolphins 17

Washington Redskins vs. Minnesota Vikings

RGIII is said to start this week, so I think they’ll take out the Vikes. Unless he gets injured again, but even then, I’ve said it once and I’ll say it again: The Vikes aren’t the same without AP.

Redskins 21, Vikings 17

St. Louis Rams vs. San Francisco 49ers

I really want to pick the Rams but I just can’t. They suck. I hate the 9ers, but the Rams just suck.

49ers 27, Rams 13

Denver Broncos vs. New England Patriots

Sigh. The top two seeds from the AFC, and two teams I don’t want to see win anything. One of these two teams will most likely represent the AFC in the Super Bowl, so I guess it doesn’t really matter who wins. Probably Denver. I think it will be a shootout.

Broncos 31, Patriots 27

Oakland Raiders vs. Seattle Seahawks

I thought the winner of the Super Bowl was supposed to have the hardest schedule of all teams the following year? Someone let this shoo-in win slip in there. Shame on them.

Seachickens 42, Raiders 3

Baltimore Ravens vs. Pittsburgh Steelers

This matchup is almost always boring. I like the Ravens. I couldn’t care less about the Steelers. I’m going with my bias.

Ravens 17, Steelers 10

Indianapolis Colts vs. New York Giants

This one is tough to pick just because you never know who’s going to show up with these teams. If Eli gets hot the giants win. If Luck gets hot the Colts win. Either way, someone has to win. I’m picking the Giants.

Giants 24, Colts 20

There you go. I’m outta here.

#bythenumbers #NFL #picks