By the Numbers: Week 8, 2014

Less commentary this week, because I’m running late with my picks. I ended up breaking even with last week, going 10 for 15 again. There were a couple that I just don’t know how they went the other way. One I did almost get the Lions/Saints game correct on score, and I correctly predicted the Denver score, but SF was a few points shy of the target. So I take it as an improvement overall. Let’s see if I can take it to 11 this week.

Thursday Night:

San Diego Chargers vs. Denver Broncos

I don’t see SD beating Denver on a short week, even if they’re pissed about losing to KC.

Verdict: Broncos 42, Chargers 21

Sunday:

Detroit Lions vs. Atlanta Falcons

As much as I want Detroit to lose so the Packers can take 1st place in the division, I don’t see them losing to the dirty birds.

Verdict: Lions 24, Falcons 13

Seattle Seahawks vs. Carolina Panthers

The Panthers don’t got it this year.

Verdict: Seachickens 31, Panthers 10

Baltimore Ravens vs. Cincinnati Bengals

This should be a decent game. I vote for the Ravens taking it.

Verdict: Ravens 21, Bengals 17

Miami Dolphins vs. Jacksonville Jaguars

Snoozer. Fish win.

Verdict: Dolphins 17, Jags 3

St. Louis Rams vs. Kansas City Chiefs

You never know with the AFC west. We’ll say Chiefs.

Verdict: Chiefs 17, Rams 7

Chicago Bears vs. New England Patriots

I don’t see Chicago winning this. They look like an 8-8 team this year.

Verdict: Pats 38, Bears 13

Buffalo Bills vs. New York Jets

The LOL teams from New York. Bills win.

Verdict: Bills 17, Jets 10

Minnesota Vikings vs. Tampa Bay Buccaneers

I think the Vikings might actually win another game.

Verdict: Vikes 24, Bucs 16

Houston Texans vs. Tennessee Titans

Meh. Texans? Maybe?

Verdict: Texans 24, Titans 14

Philadelphia Eagles vs. Arizona Cardinals

Eggles? Nah, it’s in the Cards.

Verdict: Cards 28, Eggles 14

Oakland Raiders vs. Cleveland Browns

Another game I’ll snore through. Browns win another while the Raiders weep.

Verdict: Browns 13, Raiders 3

Indianapolis Colts vs. Pittsburgh Steelers

I don’t see the Colts folding like the Texans, but Steelers are showing some life.

Verdict: Colts 31, Steelers 21

Green Bay Packers vs. New Orleans Saints

I’d be a fool to think this will be an easy game. The Pack heads to NO’s Superdome, where noise can be an issue and the Saints usually play well there. I still think we’ll pull out the win though.

Verdict: Packers 38, Saints 21

Monday Night:

Washington Redskins vs. Dallas Cowboys

Cowboys are hot, but I still think they suck. The skins just suck more.

Verdict: Cowboys 27, Skins 10

Giants and 49ers are on a bye.

So there you go. Let’s see if I can get more than 10 right this week.

#bythenumbers #NFL #picks