State of the Game: Week 42, 2014

Yeah, I know, that’s not a very descriptive title for the round-up this week, but you see I had a problem. Well, it’s actually not much of a problem, it’s actually been rather nice. I’ve been playing Skyrim, and that’s what I spent the majority of my time on this week. That means a round-up of a bunch of games can’t happen, so instead I’m reaching towards anything I can say, without really talking about Skyrim, because I made a lengthy post already and have another prepped to go! So here’s a recap of my week here on the blog:

So really, you can see that I mostly played Skyrim, and everything else was just the usual posts that have filled my weeks this month. As I said, I’ve moved on with that Skyrim DLC playthrough, so I have another post that should turn up within the next couple of days. I did manage to play other games, but they were just very sporadic and very short sessions. Or, they fell within the parameters of Bragtoberfest and will be relegated to the round-up post for tomorrow.

I jumped into Awesomenauts for a few rounds after I found out that there was a new naut in the works. I still love the game and the steady improvements keep it up there as one of my favorite MOBAs. I just wish I knew more people who played it, and were relatively the same skill level. I did manage to meet up with an old friend for a few games in League of Legends though, and that was a blast while it lasted. I still have been playing a few games here and there, but there are only so many hours in the day and I have too many damn interests.

The League of Legends World Championship Finals happened last night/this morning (depending on your time zone). I stayed up late enough to see the 3-1 victory for SSW. The first game was smash mouth for RC, they were steamrolled. Game two saw a small improvement, but SSW still came out on top. Early on I called a 3-0 in favor of SSW and made a snarky comment comparing RC with the 90’s Buffalo Bills, because this is the 2nd year in a row that the Chinese team made it to the Final, and they lost both (just as the Bills failed to win any of the 4 in a row Super Bowls that they went to). The 3rd game was a complete turn around and it looked like we might have a series. Especially when in game 4 RC took an early lead and held it for a while, but they made poor decisions and ended up losing overall. So Korea takes another Championship.

I played a few more little Indie titles for some short sessions, and have been working on high scores for the flash games and other score challenges that have popped up over the course of the month. Yesterday a group of us got together to play Team Fortress 2 and Killing Floor. I spent some time with the latter title by myself before we had the official event, but I will touch more on these comings and goings tomorrow.

I did manage to clear a few more levels in Orcs Must Die but I still have a way to go to beat the game. I rather enjoy it but I think that co-op would make it that much more fun, so I really need to push through and finish it so I can play the sequel with friends. Some other bloggers have expressed interest in this, so hopefully we can all get there sooner than later.

2014-10-14_00001
This level was giving me a hell of a time. So many Ogres!

That’s really all there is to it this week. Short and sweet. I’ll be back tomorrow with details about the goings-on with Bragtoberfest!

#stateofthegame #roundup