Optimal Timing

Now that #Bragtoberfest has been officially announced, I’m happy that there has been an overall positive response to it. As I’ve mentioned, there are going to be gaming events on the weekends run by J3w3l and myself, and I volunteered to run the first, which will take place on Saturday, October 4th. That day works the best as folks from the US will mostly be off from work, it will be evening for those in the UK, and it will be Sunday morning for those in the Australia region.  Having representatives from around the world in our blogging and gaming community, we have the challenge of finding times that work best for as many people as possible, so that we can have awesome events. Plus, with so many prizes to give out, I want people to have opportunities to earn them!

With that said, here is my thought process for the time frame for the first event. I already have the day worked out, and I know which game I want to get people involved in. Depending on turn out and interest, there are other games we might play as well. That’s all back end planning for me, don’t worry your pretty little head about it.

So I’m thinking that sometime between noon and 3 p.m. PST (GMT -8) on Saturday is probably best, as that’s between 8-11 p.m. for the UK (GMT 0), still Saturday, and 5-8 a.m. on Sunday for the far east quadrant (GMT +8). Alternatively, we could push the start time later, making it late at night for the US (say around 10-12 at night) so that would be 6-8 am on Sunday morning for the UK, and  2-4 p.m. on Sunday for the easterners. I am totally okay with either option, because it’s either mid-day or mid-night for me, and I’m up at both of those times especially on a weekend. So I need feedback from you. Are you a morning person or not?  Being on the weekend I hope some people would be more willing to get up early or stay up late, depending on the option chosen by the majority. This will help in planning for future weekend events for Bragtoberfest, though on the weekends J3w3l is hosting, things might change up a bit depending on how she wants to handle it.

Here’s a poll for you to vote on, and hopefully we can find the time frame that works best for the most people. Keep in mind, that the time ranges are to help determine START time, not the duration of the event. Events will go until we decide we’ve had enough.

As always, thanks for your feedback, and I can’t wait to game with all of you.

11 thoughts on “Optimal Timing

    • Oh I am most definitely part of the lowly consoler crowd. However, most of the people in the community are PC focused, and the consoles are surprisingly short on free-to-play offerings. Being able to coordinate with people having to buy titles is counter-productive.

      I’d love to get a big game of something going on PS3 (the only console I own at the moment) but I rarely see people talking about console games (except for Destiny, which is the new hotness).

      If I’m wrong and more people would be interested in gaming on PSN, let me know. My PSN ID is on the contact page, send me a message.

      Like

      • I only asked because of destiny if I’m honest lol! I’m down for whatever, I’ve got a good pc for gaming! As I said, I’m down for whatever! Looking forward to blogging and playing through bragtoberfest

        Like

      • Yeah I don’t have Destiny, honestly not interested in it either. So I couldn’t run that sort of event. But there isn’t a limit to what others do in the time between our sanctioned events.

        I know there’s a lot of bloggers that have been playing Destiny, I’m sure they’d be interested in playing together, all you have to do is ask! I’d love to hear about events that the community ran on their own. Bragtoberfest is about having fun gaming with fellow bloggers and gamers, and doesn’t necessarily have to be only on the weekends that me and J3w3l are hosting!

        Like

      • If you’re on Anook, you can go ahead and add a forum post there on the Bragtoberfest page. Drum up some extra interest that way. If you make a blog post tag me in it so I can spread the word. Also, the Steam NBI group is a good place to find people.

        Like

Comments are closed.