Horde Side Endeavors

Picking up where I left off.

I was still playing catch up, needing to get to level 20 (at least) to be roughly the same level as the group I was intending to join. This is the Earthen Ring Undead group I mentioned in my last WoW post. My Priest was level 15, and working through the quest hubs in Silverpine Forest. At some point in the progression, I was sent to the Ruins of Gilneas, which is a portion of the newbie experience that I don’t remember happening in the pre-Cataclysm days.

WoWScrnShot_090314_235338

This part of the chain wasn’t too lengthy, and soon I was back in Silverpine, helping Sylvanas to raise the dead to bolster the Forsaken army.

WoWScrnShot_090414_001934

I took part in a couple of dungeon runs in-between quests, and before long I was level 20. The five levels earned that night didn’t take more than a couple of hours, and then I was able to make use of the Hearthsteed, which was part of a cross-promotion between Blizzard titles. Belghast and I had a small chat about that being a missed opportunity by Blizzard, in that they should do more of this cross-pollination between their games. Anyway, I had done whatever it was that was necessary in Hearthstone in order to earn the mount, which had been placed in my mailbox, and subsequently my inventory, to this point. Upon reaching level 20 I was able to get the apprentice riding skill, and actually claim the mount. A nice new change was the fact that it is now account wide, and I don’t have to re-claim the mount on each character, it’s automatically there. I will have to train the riding skill on each, but still a nice change nonetheless.

WoWScrnShot_090414_004337
It’s rather nice looking, in my opinion.

Apparently it changes dependent on your riding skill level and location, so I assume the mount looks different for the races. I have yet to confirm this. I also noticed when you are standing still and press the jump key, when the horse rears up, ghost wings are shown, so I assume this means the mount gets faster and can fly later when you have the appropriate skill. Another neat factor, so I technically never have to buy a mount. Go me. Go free.

WoWScrnShot_090414_004636 WoWScrnShot_090414_004747

Moving along, I found myself in the Hillsbrad Foothills, and found myself being a quest-giver for a short time. I thought this was rather hilarious, it’s apparent that Blizzard knows it’s community and their commentary. At this point I stopped for the night, but Friday saw the Undead group meet for the (my) first time.

WoWScrnShot_090514_202448 WoWScrnShot_090514_205235

I only took the one shot of the dungeon group, but we ended up with Oak (Oakstout) as a warlock, Jazz (girl_vs_mmo) as a Priest, and two of their other guildies, one a Rogue and the other a Warrior, plus me, also as a Priest. Apparently Scarybooster is “full of shit” in that they didn’t actually need a healer for the group, but me and Jazz both were in Shadow spec, so we both healed a bit (though I was the designated healer). When we get a bit higher I might need to change spec, but for leveling, being a ShadowPriest has been fun. We ended up doing three dungeons before calling it a night, and at the end I was level 24 and had nearly a full suit of blue gear, much better looking that it had been before.

Because I have these two groups (Friday night Undead, Saturday night Draenei) on two different servers, and being dedicated groups I don’t want to out-level them, I have been forced into creating other alts. As I said before, I’m not much for Alliance side characters, so I’m not really worried about that server outside of the prescribed group. I did make that Pandaren Hunter on Aerie Peak as I’ve mentioned, and then also made a Goblin Rogue on the same server. I wanted to see as many of the starting zones as possible, to see changes and/or new areas. So far notating the differences with the Undead has been fun, and the whole of the Timeless Isle was a new experience. The Goblin starter zone was no exception. I managed to play through the whole bit, and ended up in Ogrimmar, but I have to say that I was disappointed with the overall playstyle of the Rogue. I’m disappointed even more because that tends to be a class type that I rather enjoy. So I’m not sure that I’ll be playing him anymore, but I did enjoy most of what the Goblin starter experience had to offer. Here’s some highlights:

WoWScrnShot_090414_144410 WoWScrnShot_090414_155236 WoWScrnShot_090414_223456 WoWScrnShot_090414_223703 WoWScrnShot_090414_225040 WoWScrnShot_090414_230415 WoWScrnShot_090414_232015

Since I was on this kick, I figured it was a good idea to also finish up the starter zone for my Pandaren. I had to finish tasks for the Horde and Alliance, remove the crashed air ship from the giant turtle’s side, and then pick a faction to join in leaving the isle. I chose Horde of course, and ended up in Ogrimmar with this character as well. From there, Garrosh decided that I needed to prove my allegiance with a trial-by-combat, and after that was done, I was a full-fledged member of the faction.

WoWScrnShot_090614_005116

So both the Pandaren and Goblin on Aerie Peak are parked for now. My friends on that server have been dormant, so outside of the Saturday group, I haven’t played with them much. Having been involved with this guild on the Earthen Ring server, I feel like that’s where most of my time will be spent until there’s more activity elsewhere. As such, I created an Undead Warlock in my former character’s image, and got him invited into Kamikaze Runners. I haven’t played him yet though because I just did all that Undead stuff and am going to take a little break from it. I also have other character classes I want to try, to keep up with the process of elimination in which I’ll find the core classes I want to take to the end game. I did make a Tauren Paladin named Thalimoos (in honor of my EQ2 Paladin, though slightly changed), and played him through the starting zones and into Azshara. I rather enjoy the class so far. That’s no surprise given my MMO history, where the dislike of Rogue was surprising.

So there you have it. Just around a week in and I’m enjoying things immensely. If you asked me a month ago what I’d be playing today I probably would have told you ArcheAge, but here I am in WoW anyway. I don’t care, I’m just glad to be having fun in an MMO again.

#WoW #worldofwarcraft #forthehorde

One thought on “Horde Side Endeavors

Comments are closed.