TV Time: An Update

Last Summer, I wrote a post about Why I love AMC. It’s been a little over a year now, and there have been some changes to that lineup, and I didn’t really touch on other shows I watched outside of that particular channel. It’s still my favorite channel when it comes to TV series, though I do watch a few shows on FX and other networks.

Changes on AMC

Mad Men entered its final season at the beginning of this year. The longest running of these shows, it’s sad to see it go. They decided to do the same thing they did with Breaking Bad, in that they split the final season into two parts. So although we’ve seen half of it, we have to wait until the beginning of next year to see the last episodes. I cannot express how good the show is, despite really having a simple premise. Breaking Bad had it’s latter half of the final season play out last summer, and the conclusion was a bit different than I expected, though it wasn’t overly shocking. Another show that is no longer on the network that I had listed before was The Killing, which followed two cops in Seattle trying to catch a serial killer. The third season aired last summer, and the fourth and final season was picked up by Netflix (which I have yet to watch). You’d recognize the actors, with the main character starring opposite Brad Pitt in World War Z, and her partner having played Robocop in the recent reboot. All of these shows are on Netflix in there entirety (outside of the last few episodes of Mad Men), so you have no excuse to get caught up.

The other shows from that list, The Walking Dead and Hell on Wheels, are both still going strong. The 5th season of the former starts in the fall, and the 4th season of the latter is on currently. I watched the first episode, but having moved I forgot to add it to the DVR list, so I might have missed an episode or two by now. I’ll get caught up.

Additions for those vacant time slots have been pretty good as well. Low Winter Sun started after Breaking Bad ended last year, and it’s another cop drama. The plot twist is that the main characters have gotten wrapped up in a crime that they committed, and are trying to avoid being caught in the process. It has that vigilante spin that I rather enjoy.

Turn is another new show that looks to take the Mad Men time slot. It’s based on early colonial America, and the first spy ring forming. George Washington isn’t a president just yet, and the revolutionary war is brewing, but not started. The main character is the son of a judge of a small town, and he gets involved in the spy ring, being rather good at it. I enjoyed the first season and will tune in when it returns. Time period pieces with some historical accuracy are great in my eyes.

Halt and Catch Fire is taking the summer time slot that The Killing occupied. It’s a story about three wildly different individuals that come together to build a new computer in the 1980’s. The main character is a bi-sexual, the son of an IBM corporate exec, and a charismatic salesman type. His counterpart has worked for Cardiff Electric for years as an engineer, but had dreams of building his own computer (that he did with his wife in the past, but it failed) for years. The wildcard is a girl who dropped out of school and was basically a gutter punk, who is discovered by the main character and turns out to be a programming genius. They reverse engineer an IBM machine and start creating their own entry into the industry — The Giant. It’s a great show and rather gripping, and since it takes place in a time frame that I am more familiar with, I rather enjoy it.

Other Channels

Another channel that has been in my steady rotation for a number of years is FX (and to a lesser degree, the newer FXX). I used to only really watch their sitcoms like Wilfred, It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia, The League, Legit, and Louie. In more recent years I started getting into their original series.

The first show I watched with any regularity was Sons of Anarchy.  A biker gang from central California, the SOA crew have had many adventures, and in a lot of ways it was a successor to shows like The Sopranos for me (for lack of a better correlation, the organized crime aspect is the only factor the two shows share). More recently I started watching American Horror Story which is a unique show in that it isn’t an ongoing series, rather it favors individual stories per season. The first two seasons really hooked me, though the last season centered around a Witches’ Coven in New Orleans fell a little flat.

Fargo which is loosely based on the movie from the 90’s (and stars Bilbo Baggins from the Hobbit movies) and is factually based on events that happened in Minnesota, just ended a few weeks ago. I loved it. It has an all-star cast, is a gripping crime thriller, and though the main character is the criminal, you really feel for him and his sad life (that changes throughout). I recommend it!

The Strain is the final show I’ll talk about on this channel, and it’s based on a book series. I haven’t read the books, before you ask. I have been watching the show though, and so far it has been really interesting. It’s currently running its first season, so I won’t go into the storyline because of potential spoilers. Just know that it’s an epidemic, and it’s not what you think. I’m seeing a bunch of different horror ideas rolled into one, and as a fan of the horror genre, it’s up my alley.

The only other show that I’ve really been watching is on Sy-Fy, and that is Defiance. You’ve probably heard of it as a gamer. It tells a story about a post-apocalyptic earth, where alien races have taken up residence and a small town called Defiance (in what would be St. Louis) is the focal point. The characters are well-rounded and engrossing, and the sci-fi meets real-world setting is interesting.

I am still very much a Game of Thrones fan, but that is obviously between seasons. Via HBO GO, I’ve also been catching up on Boardwalk Empire, which is most definitely a good substitute for The Sopranos, but in a further-in-the-past setting.

Any of these shows listed come with my recommendation. If we are semi-like-minded, you will enjoy them as well.

#tvshows #blaugust #amc #fx #hbo

9 thoughts on “TV Time: An Update

  1. ill recommend Utopia for a thriller type show to watch… really weird but interesting and is currently airing it’s second season.

    Strain seems interesting and I might pick it up and if you like those sort of shows pick up the first season of helix

    Like

  2. If you can find it, then Misfits is a great dark comedy from the UK. The first 3 seasons are an absolute blast, but after that it nosedives pretty quickly. I guess you’d find it on Netflix or whichever channels play UK tv? Sorry I’m not familiar with the US tv setup…

    Like

    • As far as I know, BBC America is the only real UK station that gets played out here. But really I’m not a fan of British shows. I love Top Gear, but that’s really about all. Some of the UK’s original programming comes out on netflix, but like I told Eri, I’ve got a pretty full plate.

      Like

  3. I’m loving The Bridge on FX. 2nd season is on now, but you can also watch the first season on Hulu or Amazon. Pretty intense drama about police on the border of Texas and Mexico. Halt and Catch Fire was one of my favorites for early summer along with another you mentioned – Fargo – not too bad to see all that snow on a hot summer day.

    Like

    • Fargo was so quirky, but had such a fantastic cast I couldn’t help but love it. I never watched the original movie, but from what I remember hearing about it, they sound quite similar.

      Yeah I’ve seen ads for The Bridge. The Americans also seems semi-interesting but I haven’t gotten into either.

      Like

Comments are closed.