Gaming Questionnaire

When doing my rounds today I came across a post by Liore where she answered a questionnaire posed by Jasyla. It ties in with a lot of conversation around the community about labels and being a gamer. I fancy myself a gamer, probably a little on the hardcore side in attitude, but more on the casual side when it comes to committing to any one game. Since yesterday’s Blaugust post was a little word-spammy, I thought I’d answer these questions briefly for a nice, short post. On with the show!

1.When did you start playing video games?

My earliest memories of gaming were a combination of watching my Dad play on his Colecovision, NES, and Atari ST, along with me actually playing on those systems as time went on. I was probably around 3 or 4 the first time I held a controller.

2.What is the first game you remember playing?

I’m not entirely sure, but I’d be willing to be the first time I touched a controller it was the original Super Mario Bros.

3.PC or Console?

Both. Yes, BOTH. I own a PS3 and a PC currently, but have pretty much always owned both. There are games that feel better on the console. There are many that are better on the PC. I like having both. I’m not crazy enough to buy all of the consoles though.

4.XBox, PlayStation, or Wii?

Playstation. I detest the Xbox controller, otherwise I know it’s a comparable system. Wii was novel, but grew old rather quickly, so I sold mine.

5.What’s the best game you’ve ever played?

That’s a rather loaded question. There are way too many games to pick 100, let alone 1. If we’re going by hours played, it would be Everquest II.

6.What’s the worst game you’ve ever played?

That’s a tough one too, because there are more shitty games than good ones when you start adding them up. How about a list of 15?

7.Name a game that was popular/critically adored that you just didn’t like.

Red Dead Redemption comes to mind. The funny thing is, I enjoyed Red Dead Revolver. The sequel just fell flat for me. The controls were wonky, and it felt like GTA in the Wild West.

8.Name a game that was poorly received that you really like.

I’m going to go with Dragon Fantasy Book II. I had to look around at various review sites to even answer this. IGN gave it a 3. It’s sitting at 55 on Metacritic. I thought it was a witty throwback to old school JRPGs, and I enjoyed Book I well enough too.

9.What are your favorite game genres?

MMO, RPG, MOBA, CCG, FPS… hell I love most of them.

10.Who is your favourite game protagonist?

Probably one that I created myself.

11.Describe your perfect video game.

You can listen to that, here.

12.What video game character do have you have a crush on?

I do not have a video game crush. That would be silly.

13.What game has the best music?

I can’t pick one in particular, I usually enjoyed games that had soundtracks made up of real-world music (discovered a lot of bands that way!). But I’d probably say old school Final Fantasy music was damn good.

14.Most memorable moment in a game:

Probably beating Emerald and Ruby weapon in Final Fantasy 7. Those were some tough battles.

15.Scariest moment in a game:

In recent memory, the first time I played The Forest. Feeling the hairs on the back of my neck stand up was too awesome. Fighting/running from the cannibals in that game is too creepy.

16.Most heart-wrenching moment in a game:

Watching Joel’s daughter die in The Last of Us.

17.What are your favorite websites/blogs about games?

Check my sidebar over there ——>

18.What’s the last game you finished?

The Wolf Among Us

19.What future releases are you most excited about?

H1Z1, The Forest (it’s only early access right now), Everquest Next, ArcheAge

20.Do you identify as a gamer?

Absolutely. Nerd works too. I might respond to “hey, tattooed guy!” as well.

21.Why do you play video games?

I could probably write a whole post on that alone. I know part of it is because I enjoy them. I also like to “escape” from the real world after a long day. They give a sense of accomplishment. Mainly, it’s something I’ve done my whole life. It could just be habit at this point.

#blaugust #gamer

5 thoughts on “Gaming Questionnaire

  1. Ahh, that Ruby and Emerald weapon answer makes me want to play FF7 again. Although I remember being so frustrated after beating Ruby weapon and being rewarded with a crappy gold chocobo. Like I didn’t already have to breed and race one to get KoTR so that I could beat it in the first place. Agh.

    Like

    • I remember being incredibly frustrated just figuring out how to beat them! But yeah chocobo breeding and racing and exploring had already occurred before I even attempted the weapons!

      Like

Comments are closed.