Weekend Rift Romp

I spent most of Saturday playing Rift with my brother-in-law. He figured out his password for an existing account that he had made a couple of years ago, so he was able to transfer over his older characters. Turns out he wasn’t as fond of his new Warrior as he was his old Cleric. He’s still been tanking primarily, but with both of us playing Clerics we were able to bounce between roles. I have still yet to tank a dungeon, but I can usually hold my own with my Greater Satyr Protector. Still, it was nice to be able to swap roles on the fly and vary our gameplay, while staying on the same character. This feature alone seems to be Rift’s best selling point. Never really needing an alt is fantastic.

So as we began, I had basically finished up the quests in Stonefield, and I need to gain a level to be able to go into the next dungeon. We decided that we would go check out Scarlet Gorge, and ended up finding that most of the quests there were filler. Meaning they gave xp/faction/coin rewards but nothing very tangible. We opted to only run through the zone and do carnage quests that popped up when we killed enemies, along with gaining disco experience.

2014-05-17_201833

It wasn’t long before we were near the top of the zone, and that’s where the Guardian faction is pretty much set up. As such, we moseyed over into the next zone, Scarwood Reach. Having been wandering around a desert zone (which I have already stated I detest), it was nice to see some green, spectacular views.

2014-05-17_202941

It took us a bit of wandering around to find the first town, as we didn’t enter the zone following any quest markers. Once we did find a friendly town, it was decided that I needed a new mount. He has a turtle mount that scales with his level, and being a couple of levels higher than me, he was consistently leaving me in the dust. I was sitting on 13 plat at that point, but the next level mount (90%) costs 25. A generous guy, my bro gave me the needed plat to get this new mount:

2014-05-17_222124

I chose the cat mount because I was sick of looking at horse ass, and the only other option was a mechanical steam-punk-ish horse. Cool and all, but I wanted something different. The other mounts for that tier required a particular level with some faction, and I lacked that requirement. Otherwise, real money would be required for purchase, and I’m not with that. The blue cat stood out to me as being the most odd, and I like having a weird mount, so there you have it. We did end up doing another dungeon, this time the Foul Cascade. My brother decided that he wanted to check out a healer build he had just made, so I rolled as dps. Ironically we ended up in a full group of Clerics, but each was spec’d differently. Our tank was terrible, as was this zone. Groups of linked mobs littered the place, the bosses were annoying and we wiped more than once due to the tank not paying attention when dps/healers pulled aggro. Having played a tank in the past, I was constantly trying to off tank, but wasn’t spec’d correctly to do so, and my efforts went in vein. We did complete the dungeon, but it was more annoying that anything. At this point, we were bored of dungeons and questing, and decided it was time to try out some PvP. I. Had. A. Blast.

We had a bunch of bonuses accrued for PvP, so it made more sense to queue for random Warfronts. This way, at the end of each game that we won, we would get a crate of blue gear. Some of it ended up being upgrades for us, so we ate up all the bonuses. I know that we played all of the different Warfronts at least once, some more than once. One of my favorites, The Codex, is where we ended up having some of our early success.

2014-05-17_230020

Full raids and huge battles? Plus point capture? Yes please. Why do I enjoy PvP so much? This:

2014-05-17_234422

The sheer size of the battles can be had in PvE raids as well, but then that opposing force in the distance? Yeah, those would be AI controlled mobs, and stupid pre-scripted ones at that. No thanks. Give me the challenge of playing other people anyday. From what I’ve seen, gear doesn’t make much of a difference. Skill does to a degree, but really once you get focused you’re done for, no matter what the objectives are. In most cases I was trying to 1v1 people, and in those cases I won for the most part. I think your builds and knowledge of that particular game mode has the biggest effect on the PvP game. However, there were many times I died and I still had a lot of fun. We had matches where our team was completely decimated, and sure it sucks, but at the end of the round it’s over with. Then you queue up for a new round and when you win that one, you forget all about getting your ass kicked. I think that’s the problem with most anti-PvP players, they don’t give the mode a chance, and get too butt-hurt over losing.

Later, after the PvPing was done for the day, I realized I had leveled from the mid 20s to the early 30s. At that point I was able to open up another pet for my Druid solo build, this time a melee dps pet:

2014-05-18_005027

I’m looking forward to seeing what this bad boy can do in PvP, although having played with the Druid most of the time, I decided that I wanted to try a different approach. During our PvP battles, I opted to make an Inquisitor build specifically for PvP. It’s the ranged dps build for Clerics, and boy does it make a difference not having to charge into the front lines, or having to worry about giving a pet commands. The lack of a pet is weird, but at the same time the huge nukes and DOTs the Inquisitor brings to the table are fantastic. For those who are curious as to what kinds of trees I’m working with, here are my 3 roles:

2014-05-18_005046
Solo Build: Druid/Shaman/Sentinel
2014-05-18_005424
Group Healer Spec: Warden/Sentinel/Purifier
2014-05-18_005449
PvP Build: Inquisitor/Cabalist/Sentinel

I may go more into build specifics in my next Rift post, + further adventures.

#rift #cleric #pvp

10 thoughts on “Weekend Rift Romp

  1. It’s been a while since I played Rift, so I don’t recall too much about builds, but I do recall that my favorite leveling build in the current iteration (skills as set in Storm Legion) was a “Druid-icar” that used Shaman as the 3rd soul for the 0-point buff. The 1st 21 points went in Justicar in order to get the defenses and the primary attacks (Strike of Judgment for ST, Bolt of Radiance for Ranged, and Even Justice for AE) and then everything after that went into Druid, not for the attacks, but for the buffs (to life damage in particular, but also simply “in general”) and the pet. Might be another avenue to look at going, though kudos on you for making your own build and finding what works for you.

    If you did want to look at the “Druidicar” thing, though, at level your level 31 it’d look like this: http://rift.magelo.com/en/soultree.jspa#r8ExOw/Dr188/l

    The tank pet’s stuck at 30 while you’re 31, but at 32 you can pop a point into it to get the Greater, so it’s only “behind” for that 1 level which doesn’t make a difference. At 33 with the “extra” point you get, toss another point into Shield of Faith to get 22 in Justicar and “finish” it out. This gets you the Doctrine of Loyalty which is a decent “oh snap” button to heal your pet and your group if you get a little over your head. Make sure to have Righteous Mandate on the pet (or your brother) and Mien of Honor on yourself, plus all the druid buffs and the Vengeance from the Shaman. Damage output is surprisingly high and your and your pet become surprisingly durable to boot.

    Like

    • Well Shaman and Druid meld well because they focus on melee combat abilities and buffs. I had thought of using Justicar as well because that’s also melee, but I have pretty much always had a tank (either pet or my brother) so I didn’t want to generate threat. That’s why I took Sentinel, just for the emergency heals for myself.

      Like

      • Justicar and Druid both do Life damage, so they synergize well, plus the Justicar does heal-on-strike in addition to the defensive bonuses it gets. Shaman does completely different damage types and does best when alternating back and forth between magic and physical hits. Unless it’s had a major revamp since I last played, generally Shaman is considered to be an all-or-nothing class that doesn’t really synergize well with the others, except for the generic “add spell power” or “add wisdom” buffs that some trees get in the 1st 5-10 points.

        Like

      • Well honestly, I’m not that much into min/maxing, particularly before the end game. I might have different ideas by the time I get to the end, considering I’ve had many different builds since I started, and I’m only level 32. Also, if I had the additional souls that are available I might do something altogether different. So let’s just leave it at “it’s a work in progress” 😀

        Like

      • Absolutely! That’s the beauty of the soul system in Rift — you can do your own thing, and tbh, I’ve never seen a truly gimped build, so… if it works for you then enjoy!

        Like

      • That is what makes the game a major success for me. If you took away the soul system and replaced it with traditional alternate advancement trees, Rift would be another boring themepark, despite the other cool features of the game.

        Like

  2. In case you wonder how much damage the tank pet can actually do:

    That’s AE, and post 50, so I’ve got the “spirit of upheaval” buff on him, but….. that’s a bit over 10K dps according to the meter. Yellow numbers are mine, white are the pet’s.

    Like

    • I could tell the tank pet does some dps, but at my level it’s not a whole lot. I’m curious how the numbers compare to the melee and ranged dps pets. I would assume the dps pets would put out bigger numbers.

      Like

      • The melee dps pet doesn’t have the teleport that the tank does, so it tends to take longer running in and thus does a bit less overall. Unless it’s been buffed since I drifted off, the tank pet is generally considered superior to the melee pet at all times.

        The seer on the other hand, is ranged and therefore doesn’t lose time running in, plus she puts out a lot of nice dps too, but if you’re running the Mien of Honor she’ll pull aggro and die really fast too, thus reducing her dps too. TBH, I used her for quite a while and thought people using the tank pet were fools.

        All that said, 56 was considered to be the tipping point where the tank did the most dps in addition to being the most survivable, so before that… use any pet you like.

        I tested it that out and… yeah, it not only was doing more on its own at 56 due to the scaling, but it also would stay alive and thus be putting out damage the whole time and it didn’t matter if it or I had the aggro, where for the other pets I had to be tanking for them or they’d crumple.

        Like

Comments are closed.