May IGC

Another month down, another round of Playstation Plus freebies. This month is a little on the light side, most likely because of the fact that the “permanent” fixtures are going to be rotated out very soon. I could have sworn that kept occurring in May, but perhaps it is June that the main 3 or 4 games will get swapped out. That month tends to be one of the best of the year, especially for AAA titles you might not have checked out before. Here’s the video preview, commentary to follow:

On the PS4, the new game of the month is called “Stick it to the Man”. Although the title sounds vaguely familiar, I’m not exactly sure what that one is about. I still haven’t picked up a PS4 yet, so add it to the list of games I’ll check out when that day comes.

On the Vita, a couple of indie games that I haven’t really played/read/heard about: Surge, and Limbo. I recall the latter title but it isn’t something I’ve played, and I’m still just adding these Vita games to the pile for a day when I might get that system. I swear a PS4/Vita bundle would give me so many new games to play my head would explode.

Finally, on the PS3 side of things, we’re getting a couple of decent titles. Puppeteer got rave reviews and up until now I hadn’t ever tried it. I’m interested to see how that one turns out. I’m not sure who asked for sports titles in the IGC, but they got their wish. Pro Evolution Soccer 2014 is coming to the service this month, and though I am not a soccer fan, it’s good to see Sony adding variety to the mix. It’s been a while since the last sports game. Too bad it’s not Madden, though. The game I’m most excited about this month? Read on.

Skullgirls is a 2-D fighting game that I always wanted to try, and almost bought on more than one occassion. The character design is wacky, and overall the game reminds me of Darkstalkers, with an all-female cast. There was some sort of legislation with the game’s creators and either their publisher or distributor or something to that effect, so the game was being “remade”, and re-released as Skullgirls Encore. This version was supposed to contain more stuff and/or be patched to be the best version of the game possible. It’s been a while since we got a fighting game, and even longer since I really got into one, so I’m looking forward to playing this bad boy (or should I say bad girl?)

What game are you looking forward to most?

#playstation #playstationplus #IGC #instantgamecollection