April IGC

It’s that time again, another round of Playstation Plus freebies for another month. Video first, commentary to follow:

Ironically, I was just asking J3w3l about the first game on the list, as I had seen it released on Steam, and she had purchased it. Mercenary Kings was a Kickstarter game that appears to be a Metal Slug type clone, but still interesting enough that I considered buying it. J3w3l’s comment was that it was “rather average” so I avoided the purchase. Here were are now going over the IGC for this month, and that exact game is included. It’s a PS4 version, so no I won’t be able to try it right now, but it’s nice to know that it will be waiting for me at a later date, and no money was spent.

For the PS3, the contents are only average. Batman Arkham city is a pretty old game at this point and with the past few months releases of newer high end games, I wasn’t expect this sort of throwback. I suppose it is a good thing because the only game of the series I have played was the original, so this does mean I can pick up where I left off. But who am I kidding? With my ridiculous backlog, this won’t be played anytime soon either. Just add it to the pile.

Next up is the Castle of Illusion remake. I had the original on the Genesis and it was a pretty fun platformer. I’m not super fond of Disney characters in my video games, but this along with Duck Tales was a classic, and I intended to own both of them at some point again. Getting one for free is icing on the cake. I downloaded the demo for this game a while back and it is truly a worthy update of a great game from my childhood.

Lastly, another indie game makes the list, this time it’s Stealth Inc: A Clone in the Dark. I’m not entirely sure what this one is all about, but it’s a title that I recall releasing within the last year or so. Typically games that are centered around stealth mechanics are irritating to me, so I’m not sure if this is a title that I will be able to get into or not, but anything that is free is usually worth a shot. I’ve had more fun with indie games as opposed to AAA titles lately anyway.

Finally, for the Vita there are a couple of new titles coming, Velocity Ultra and one of the Pixel Junk games. I really have no information on either title, though I do understand that the Pixel Junk games are a long standing series and that they must be pretty popular to warrant all of the releases I’ve seen. However, I’ve never tried any of the games, so I don’t know if I’d be in with that crowd or not.

There you have it, another month’s worth of free games. We’re nearing the Summer now, and that means there will be another rather large update to the IGC, where the “stationary” titles will swap out for another set for the next year. Looking forward to that within the next couple of months.

One thought on “April IGC

  1. yeh, i don’t know about mercenary kings. It’s just not what i wanted form it at all. I guess if you were going into it not having played some of the metal slug series and your interests were more aligned then it would be good. It just annoyed me.

    The pixel junk games are pretty awesome.. recommend

    Like

Comments are closed.