Bite-sized (nom nom)

Just some quick updates today, and some links to further reading.

  • I beat Reaper of Souls last night. Despite not doing any Paragon grinding before the expansion hit, it was still fairly easy, even on Hard difficulty. However, Malthael (the angel of death and final boss) was a bitch. He killed me more than once but I eventually got the best of him. Definitely more of a challenge than Diablo or any other boss in the game for that matter. Upon completion I was eager to try out Adventure mode, and I also turned the difficulty up to Expert. Beyond that, there is Master and I-VI Torment levels, so I suppose you could grind your way through this game indefinitely. Adventure mode is nice because the entire game is opened up to you, with the ability to teleport anywhere via way points. Bounties are present, and those are basically bosses that you fought in the story, but you can skip right to their level, rather than having to wade through the overland zones and several dungeon levels. I completed one bounty before I logged off, and at that difficulty level it was doable but definitely challenging. I can see where having your friends along would be worth while, as a Wizard I’m becoming a bit squishy. Apparently there are blood shards that are collectible and use-able for upgrades, but I have yet to see any. You also have to collect something else to be able to open “Nephalim shards” but I have yet to experience that either. So for now, it appears that there is still a lot of game left, which is good because grinding the same story over and over didn’t really appeal to me.
  • Another Steam sale caught my eye and had me spending a couple bucks on some games. I picked up Speedball 2 HD, Highborn (plus two DLC chapters) and Quest of Dungeons. I enjoyed the latter two games, the first was a complete and total pile of garbage.
  • Speedball 2 HD is a remake of a classic Amiga/Atari ST game (my Dad had the latter, and the original game) that I played when I was a kid. I loved that game, as it was basically an early Mutant League Football. Speaking of that game, it deserves an honorable mention on my list of great games, because it is still one of the best sports games I ever played. Basically it’s a sports game where you are to score goals, and the pace was frantic, AND you could smash your opponents in between throwing the ball around/scoring goals. I remember it being a lot of fun, and this game was clearly based off of the same game I knew and loved. Unfortunately, something got lost in translation. Yeah, the graphics are better than 8 or 16-bit (whatever the original was) but this game was not fun. There was no redeeming qualities. I actually played for ten minutes and then shut it off… I’m not sure if I’ll ever try it again. Perhaps nostalgia is best left in the mind, because what I had in front of me almost tarnishes the memory of the original.
  • Highborn is another of those iOS/Android games that was ported to Steam. Despite that fact it’s still pretty well done, and I enjoyed what I played of it. It’s basically a Heroes of Might and Magic type game, though you don’t teleport to a battle field when attacking mobs on the map, the action simply carries out. I only played the first mission of the 1st chapter, but from what I saw it had enough elements that I feel it was worth the couple bucks I spent on it. More on this later when I play more of it.
  • Quest of Dungeons was just released yesterday when I picked it up, so like Luftrausers the week before, it had an “opening-day-discount.” This one is basically a graphical Angband. I spoke about Angband in my Influential 15 post, so if you don’t know what game I’m referring to, check out that post. It’s a rogue-like, but unlike Sword of the Stars: The Pit that I picked up a few months ago, it’s high-fantasy based rather than Sci-fi, and seems a little bit simpler. But no less deadly. I made it to floor two before dying. Floor one was a cake walk, and I found upgrades for my gear and leveled up to 5 before feeling ready for the next level. A couple of rooms later I was confronted with a boss, and he flattened me. The game has four classes, a warrior, assassin, wizard, and shaman. I chose the assassin because range tends to help in these sorts of games, but none of that mattered to the boss who kicked my ass. For a simple jump in jump out experience, this game didn’t disappoint. You might want to choose your own music though, as QoD’s was fairly lame.
  • There’s some hubbub about the Oculus Rift and its being sold to Facebook. The guy who started up the Oculus company answers some questions here.
  • Now that you’ve read that, Project Morpheus probably sounds a bit better. Here’s a list of PS4 games releasing this year, perhaps you can justify buying one now, and be ready for VR in the future.
  • Team Builder in League of Legends is officially live. I tried it out in beta, but not since that announcement. I’ll makes some commentary on this later.

That’s about all I have from around the interwebs today. Just for shits, here’s a funny video: