Bite-sized

I’ve done bullet point posts in the past, mainly when I wanted to express things about multiple subjects or just felt the need to jot something down without dedicating a whole post to it. You’ve probably gathered by now that I’m not the short-post writing type, most of the time I top 1000 words per post. Sometimes I do share a video/graphic with little to no commentary, but sometimes those videos/graphics are self-explanatory — no comment needed. What I’m getting at is that I feel lazy today but want to cover a bunch of different topics, so here’s some bite-sized commentary on various things:

  • I mentioned having some interest in the newly released indie game Luftrausers, and that it had a slight discount on its release day. (Un?)Fortunately there was another sale going on that day that forced my hand into buying not only Luftrausers, but also Galaxy on Fire 2 HD and Expeditions: Conquistador. Luftrausers is a sepia-toned 2-D schmup that reminds me of simpler days when public domain games were freely distributed if you knew how to get them (my Dad did). GoF2 is a port of a mobile game, but it’s a 3-D space shooter that’s accessible enough to have some fun with. Expeditions is a game about the Spain’s conquering of South America, and you get to have a hand in that. A Heroes of Might and Magic style game, the tactical battles are fun and so far it seems to have a lot of depth for an indie game.
  • I played some Hearthstone the other night with J3w3l of Healing the Masses. We started out with our “A-game” decks, and I was surprised to have my ass handed to me in the first match. Her Shaman was set up well, but my Hunter proved victorious the next round. We played a couple more games afterwards, both wining one. An evenly played evening, it was fun to interact with a fellow blogger outside of comments.
  • Syp has an interesting post on the personality of video games. I can really get on board with the concept, and the best example of a game whose personality clashed with my own that I couldn’t explain was Lord of the Rings Online. I love the IP. I’ve read most of Tolkien’s work. I’ve watched all of the movies several times in the theater and own all of the extended editions that are out at this point. I’ve played many LotR games over the years. This game was a no-brainer, I would love it. I bought the game and never subscribed outside of the first month. I played for about another month when the game went free to play. It just never clicked, and I can’t explain why.
  • Player Versus Developer has an interesting viewpoint on how there may be a MOBA crash like there has been a MMO crash as of late. I can say that I would agree that the worst of the bunch will probably taper off and shut down, but I don’t see games like League of Legends failing anytime soon, and others like Smite, Heroes of the Storm, and Awesomenauts seem to be chugging along just fine. Blizzard’s HotS is in development right now of course, but I don’t see them necessarily dethroning Riot from MOBA throne. MOBAs are more accessible than MMOs though, in that they are almost always free to play, take less time invested to make progress, and are very much drop-in drop-out types of games. Also if you consider deathmatch titles like Hawken or even Battlefield/COD as MOBAs (cause in actuality, they basically are) then the genre isn’t declining but rather growing.
  • The ESO/Wildstar controversy continues, and Keen is one of the first to admit that he doesn’t know which he’ll be playing, if any, or if maybe he’ll just play both. I’m with him in the fact that I was really looking forwards to ESO, until I started hearing about it. I’ll probably still be on the fence by the time it releases and I imagine that unless the initial reviews are wholly awesome, I’ll pass altogether. Wildstar is another themepark and I’m sick of those, so I’m pretty much set to pass it altogether.
  • Want to know what the new abilities for Diablo III’s characters will look like? Here’s some videos.
  • The new Meta Report is out, and it seems that the Warlock is keeping his crown for now. The top three now consists of Warlock, Warrior and Hunter, and I’m happy to say that I primarily play Hunter, so I must be smart! Cause the meta tells me so! Seriously though, the Hunter is awesome.
  • Here’s two separate posts that have to do with some of the issues surrounding the gaming community. I feel like I have some commentary to add, but will save that for another post. Still, read this, and this one here.
  • The Occulus Rift has some competition coming… introducing Project Morpheus. VR is still one of those things that’s either going to be ridiculously awesome and change gaming forever, or it’s going to be like the Nintendo Wii/PS Move/Xbox Kinect where it’s just another annoying peripheral fad. I’m interested to see for myself, though I’m sure that’s a way off.
  • Lastly, an Angry Birds RPG. No, seriously.

3 thoughts on “Bite-sized

  1. 1. I taught J3w3l to play the shaman. shes currently unaware, so don’t dash her hopes on it. I just wanted to say, Im proud that she can win with the shaman.

    2. MOBA crash: After watching Free to Play on Steam last night I walked away feeling like a crash was coming too. the DOTA 2 tournament must have churned out some mad burnout in its wake, with lots of high hopes and dreams of a million bucks poofing into the thin air and what not. I suspect that after players realize how few of them can make a living with MOBAs, we’ll see a significant decline in the playerbase, and that portion of players will wind up with Blizzard’s HoTS. Because Blizz is simple King Casual and if youre not a competitive player, their games do a great job of making you feel like a winner anyway. I’ll be tracking the coming MOBA Crash.

    3. I honestly dont know what anyone finds exciting about ESO/Wildstar. WS looks just a tad more interesting …but just TAD. I really do think Ive out grown this brand of MMOs. They just fail to interest me even a tiny bit. ESO looks like it could never be fun or interesting for me. I suspect a lot of MMO gamers will feel the same and their numbers will plateau well below 500k after launch.

    4. VR currently makes me ill. I look forward to it, but Im not that excited about it right now because motion sickness is real. Still, I love this concept and I hope they can take care of that in the future.

    Thanks for the list of links. I would never have found the Fanboy article or the Meta Report otherwise!

    Like

    • I’ve had some success with all of the decks, she just stated that it was her best deck, the one in which she put the most time into playing/improving. The same goes for me and the hunter. I felt that we were pretty on par.

      I’ve been meaning to watch that… I guess being primarily a LoL player I haven’t realized that some of the others have had such controversy. But this wasn’t exactly a huge market anyway, unless you make the comparisons with deathmatch style games as well, lumping them into that genre (which no one does, I just suggested that way of looking at it).

      Eh… I suppose if you haven’t played themeparks for the last ten years, then they might both be exciting. I was excited when ESO was announced, it was during a time I wasn’t playing MMOs at all and I even said that it was one that might bring me back (along with Copernicus, but we know how that ended). Since then it seems lackluster and I don’t think I’ll be playing it, or Wildstar. Maybe when there’s a free to play model I’ll try them. Sad saying that… I remember when free to play left a shitty taste in my mind.

      Like

Comments are closed.