Complete Overload

The saga continues!

Let’s recap, shall we? First of all, I was in the mood to play an MMO. Sadly, my laptop wasn’t agreeing with me so nothing was going to happen with that machine. The next idea was to build a new computer. I was going to do so with my tax return, and then it seemed like I probably should put it off for a while, because of some extraneous circumstances. I had accepted defeat, and would wallow with my PS3 and gimpy laptop. As a consolation I was able to visit my Dad and check out some of the games I was planning on buying/trying when I built my new computer, but that was such a tease. When I came home, all I wanted was a new shiny to take my mind off of it all. What better new shiny than a copy of one of the games I wanted? I went to Gamestop and picked up a PS3 edition of Diablo III. It would have to do for the time being.

Wouldn’t you know, right as I was popping the disc into my PS3, my Dad has the bright idea to let me borrow his older computer. It’s not top of the line anymore, but it’s still an upgrade from the laptop I had been using, and will run everything I’ve been wanting to play for a while now. That means I can return to Everquest II to check things out from the expansions I’ve missed. That means I can try out Rift, Neverwinter, and other Free-to-play games I simply couldn’t run. It means I could get some games on my wishlist from Steam/GoG/etc. Needless to say, I returned the PS3 copy of D3, and used that money + $10 to get both the base game and Reaper of Souls preordered for the PC.

I spent the weekend getting this computer formatted and ready to go, and still spent a good chunk of today downloading and installing everything I could think of. I did end up getting a couple things on my wishlist as well, namely The Banner Saga, Shadowrun Returns and Aarklash Legacy. Between those additions, the MMOs I can now dive into, and all of the games I was already taking part in, I’m feeling overwhelmed. First world problems. However, all of this means more content for the blog, and that’s always a good thing!  That’s all for this quick update. I will return tomorrow with my regular column.