Excuses, and some Loot

I was going to write up a strategy post on deck building, champion selection, and touch on the kind-of-sort-of “pay-to-win” aspect of Hearthstone, but then I got distracted. Mainly by playing more Hearthstone. When I wrote my first impressions of the game, I was playing the Warlock and seemingly could not lose. For the next few days, all I did was lose, so I thought maybe it was too soon for me to be throwing around strategies or terms like “pay-to-win.” I will have more commentary on the game soon-ish, but for now let’s say I need to work some bugs out. But, I did have some other little tidbits come up within the last couple of days that I wanted to share, though I didn’t want to include them in the State of the Game post that’s due out tomorrow (or maybe later today depending on where you are).

Unlike last year, my student status didn’t delay my tax return. The influx of resources has had me taking care of some business but also looking for indulgences. First I had to pay off some debts (damn those responsibilities), then I picked up some new struts for my car that are going to be installed tomorrow, which will put it in tip-top condition again. There are a few other things I need to take care of that aren’t worth mentioning, and then there’s the new computer I’m planning to build. To be honest, I should say that my father is building it, though I will be doing the physical part he is helping me find the best bang for my buck. Somewhere along the lines I got left behind when it comes to computer hardware. I was looking at what I thought was a pretty sweet DIY combo deal on New Egg, and it turns out that wouldn’t have been much of an upgrade from what I have (what I am currently using is a four year old laptop that was middle-of-the-road when I first purchased it — gaming wasn’t on my mind at the time). I knew my Dad would be a wealth of information on the subject, so I’m glad that I went to him for an opinion before buying anything. Anyway, research is being conducted, and I’ll have more on that later!

In the meantime, I was itching to buy a new game. I know, I just got Metro for free last week (and I have played it some, more on that in SotG). I was playing through Doom 3 the week before. I was doing something else before that, then Hearthstone came up, etc. Now I’m planning on building an MMO machine and going back to that whole mess. So why do I need a new game? Because.

I took my usual routes.

GOG.com – I’m interested in the Banner Saga after reading about the game on Keen & Graev’s
Humble Bundle – The Sid Meier’s Civilization bundle is awesome, but meh. All I really want is a copy of V and the DLCs, but none of the older versions.
Playstation Store – Nothing worthwhile on sale, nothing I see worth spending $60 on.

From there I was thinking I could just see what brick and mortar stores have on sale, or what I might be able to order from Amazon at a good price. I started off at Gamestop’s website, and wasn’t really seeing anything until I remembered that I’m a rewards member and maybe there was something cool I could redeem. My account showed over 10k points, so I browsed the catalog hoping to get a PSN card or some other form of game/discount. I was out of luck on that front, but ended up grabbing this t-shirt:

3470p_0c_2m

There was another shirt that I would have preferred, but I fell short on points so I went with the classic. I was surprised to find out that both shirts were actually from a 3rd party website, and because of using my points for the above shirt, I would get 10% off of anything else I ordered. Adding a second item would also qualify me for free shipping. I know a good deal when I see one. So I picked up the other shirt as well, this one is League of Legends themed:

4017p_0c_2bIf you are unaware of how this is related to the game, Pentakill is what is called out when you deal the killing blow to all five members of the enemy team. In the game’s lore, there is also a 5 member band called Pentakill. Sona is one of their members, and I actually have that skin in game. I’m also a huge metal-head so this appeals to me in that band shirt sort of way. \m/

Still with me? Ok so I set out to buy a video game, and got a little side tracked, but this is all still gaming related! Once I realized that none of the brick and mortar establishments had anything I was interested I moved onto Amazon, and learned something new. I knew that some retailers had started allowing digital downloads of software (outside of the usual outlets like Steam), but I guess I just assumed that only PC games were included. Turns out you can buy full on downloads of games via sites like Amazon, and then use a key to download the games from PSN onto your system. It really works exactly the same, except there is a nice discount on quite a few items on their list. Some games seemed to be equally priced with the Playstation store, but one gem was shining brighter than the others — all three Skyrim DLCs bundled, for half off.

Sold. So I scratched any of the other options for now. The rest of my money is going to the computer build. More to come.