The Walking Dead: Season 2, Episode 1

the-walking-dead-game-season-2-walkthrough

Warning!! Potential Spoilers Ahead!

It was announced a while ago that Clementine would be playable in the new season of TellTale’s The Walking Dead game. A character that we all became attached to throughout the story of season 1, she has grown up a bit, and is forced into even more daunting situations in this, the first episode. Aside from Omid and Christa (whom is now VERY pregnant), there are thus far no other recurring characters. Mention is made of the previous game’s ending, and though they didn’t tell you that Clem makes it into Omid and Christa’s care, they answer that question in the first season of the new game.

Of course, things have to go wrong, and eventually you find yourself wandering alone, until happening upon a dog, a camp, and eventually some new people. I won’t give everything away, but there is a long discussion about what is to be done with you, and some sneaking around behind their backs that needs to be done. This leads us to the end of this episode, where it is decided that this group move on from where the were currently holed up. There’s the requisite cliffhanger, and we are left to wait until the next episode is released, which should be within the next month or two, given the first game’s release schedule.

One thing that I am wondering about is what is going on with the characters introduced in the 400 Days DLC. As of yet, there has been no real mention of them, unless I’m just an idiot that doesn’t recognize this new group as people from the other episode. But in that episode there was mention of a safe place that some of that group was supposed to be heading to, and I theorized before that we would see Clementine again there. I still feel like that might be the case, though we didn’t know then that we would be playing Clementine, so it might be from a different perspective than I originally thought. Either way, I am excited to see how things pan out.

My only complaint with the game was that it was too short! I know because of the episodic nature we’re only getting chunks of the ‘full’ game but it literally took just over an hour to complete the whole episode. I remember some of the episodes from the first game taking upwards of 3-4 hours to complete. I hope that they make up for this in future episodes, because right when it was getting good, it ended.

Still, I think the game was well worth the $5 tag, and if you were a fan of the original this will not disappoint! Here’s my final results screen:

WP_20131217_001
Apparently I’m part of a very small percentage that holds a grudge (the dog)

 

One thought on “The Walking Dead: Season 2, Episode 1

  1. […] I touched on the first episode of TellTale’s The Walking Dead Season 2 last year when it released. I didn’t go into the story all that much, and changed formats when I started reviewing The Wolf Among Us. I prefer that format over the brief snippet I had posted about this game previously, so I’m going to do it that way. So let’s be underway. First, the choices: […]

    Like

Comments are closed.