One for All

A while back it was announced that there would be some new game modes coming to League of Legends. These were going to be on a limited time basis, and based on community feedback, some might make it to the live game as permanent queues. I completely forgot about this in light of being focused on Ranked and then not playing quite so much league after the season ended. A few days ago, the first of these promotional game modes went live, this one being called “One for All.” The premise is simple, each team is made up of five of the same champion. This sounds like a cool idea, until you really think about it. How many champions can you list that can effectively play all roles? There aren’t many I’d put on that list. Even with those few champs that can do it all, there are many champions that will counter  you no matter what you do. It’s just completely unbalanced, and I really can’t get into it.

It seems to me that it would only be a viable option if you had a pre-made that all could agree on a single champion that they are all effective with, in their particular role. One champion I can think of that can shine in any role is Elise. I prefer her in the jungle, but I have played her mid, top, and support. Never as an ADC, but I’m sure it could be done well enough. But what are the chances that four of your friends can also play her well enough, in any given role? It just seems ineffective. Sure, it’s mindless fun, but I am too competitive for that. I want to win. Or at least have a decent shot at winning. 5 Nidalees vs. 5 Tryndameres just isn’t my cup o’ tea. I down vote this game mode, and I hope the next one is more fun.

Speaking of which, it has already been announced. The next featured game mode is coming during Snowdown, the annual Xmas Holiday event. Taking place on the Howling Abyss this time, the new mode will be 1v1 and 2v2. I think this is a mode I can get behind, because I always like to 1v1 and my friends never want to do that. 2v2 also sounds intriguing, as there are some nice duos in my champion pool. Snowdown is also coming with new skins, ward skins, summoner’s icons and once again the legacy skins for the holiday are coming back for the limited time. The list of skins included:

  • Snow Bunny Nidalee
  • Workshop Nunu
  • Happy Elf Teemo
  • Earnest Elf Tristana
  • Old Saint Zilean
  • Re-Gifted Amumu
  • Santa Gragas
  • Reindeer Kog’Maw
  • Candy Cane Miss Fortune
  • Ragdoll Poppy
  • Nutcracko
  • Silent Night Sona
  • Festive Maokai
  • Bad Santa Veigar
  • Mistletoe LeBlanc
  • Snow Day Ziggs
  • Dark Candy Fiddlesticks
  • Toy Soldier Gangplank
  • Snowmerdinger
  • Slay Belle Katarina
  • Snow Day Singed*
  • Snowstorm Sivir*
  • Winter Wonder Lulu*

Lastly, the next new champion has been revealed, his name being Yasuo. From what I have read, he is a fighter that is supposed to go mid lane. He seems weird, and I’m not impressed with his kit. I’m waiting on seeing some video and trying him out before I give an actual impression. Check him out here.

*These are the new skins debuting this year. Those without an * are from previous years.