100% Club

My gaming time has been majorly split up as of late. I no sooner get wrapped up in a game that another new “shiny” one grabs my attention. When stuff goes on sale, it’s hard to pass up, and Plus never slows down. Throw in my interest in League of Legends and some other PC games, and I simply do not have the time to finish games very often. But I usually do get around to finishing a few here and there, especially some of the easier ones. If I can play something casually for a week and it’s done, then at least it’s off of the to-do list, right? There are some games I have been playing that I haven’t commented much on because either I want to get farther along with them before I write a review(ish) post, or it’s another MOBA, and those don’t exactly end. More on this in a bit.

So, I’m calling this post the 100% club because there are several PS3 games in which I have earned 100% of the trophies. I just recently added two new games to that list, though I have been meaning to make this post for a couple of weeks now. Here’s the list, as it were:

  1. Awesomenauts
  2. Frogger Returns
  3. Guardians of Middle-Earth
  4. Pac-Man Championship Edition DX
  5. Sonic’s Ultimate Genesis Collection
  6. The Walking Dead
  7. Trine 2
  8. Wonderboy in Monster World

5,6 and 7 all had Platinum trophies, so those were the most challenging to get, though some of the other games did have some time consuming trophies. There are other games that would be on this list, as I had 100% at one point in time, but additional DLC was added that I didn’t complete. There are also 5+ games that I have platinum trophies for, just not 100% (again because of DLC). The newest additions are as follows:

Galaga Legions DX:

204698-galagaheader

 

I’ve always loved a good coin-op arcade game. I had the original Galaga on my NES, and I remember playing the shit out of it over the years. It was one of those games you’d never beat, but you’d still try. I couldn’t tell you my high score or how far along I actually got, but I had a lot of fun playing it. This new-school version of the game obviously updates the graphics considerably, and the game play is equally advanced. Much like the Pac-Man DX game on my list, it has some psychadelic visuals that could seriously give someone a seizure, so I wouldn’t recommend playing for too long. But it really doesn’t take long to get the trophies and complete the game anyhow, and if you were paying attention, it was free for Plus members a while back. A good time killer.

Dragon Fantasy Book I:

dragonfantasybook1reviewscreenshot1

 

This game is pretty much a direct ripoff of the NES Dragon Warrior. But it’s a ripoff in a good way. You wander a map, and the above screen appears when fighting monsters, with your combat options being limited to attack, magic, item, and run. It’s good for a nostalgic run, and will remind you of what you liked about old-school RPGs (and maybe some of what you don’t). The real character of the game is its sense of humor, as you can see from the combat text above. The storyline was pretty basic, and the combat is repetitive (especially when having to grind out levels every time you enter a new area/dungeon). They threw in most elements of that era’s RPGs, and I can appreciate it. The single run through of the game to get the trophies was enough for me though, and I don’t see any room to re play the game. However, the sequel released recently, and is more like SNES/Genesis RPGs, and that’s even more my thing. I’ll have more on that later. You don’t necessarily have to play Book 1 to enjoy Book 2, though if you are completionist like me you’ll want to have both. They are reasonably priced on PSN.

As I mentioned earlier, I have been playing some other games that I hadn’t commented on, aside from these two here. One is Ni No Kuni: The Wrath of the White Witch, and the other is Awesomenauts. The former is a JRPG that released at the beginning of the year and was on sale for $20 so I had to check it out. It’s great thus far but I haven’t gotten to where I want to before making a dedicated post. Awesomenauts is in my 100% club, and I have posted about it before. My roommate played the game with me a bit, but had a 360 at the time and bought the game there. He has since bought a PS3 so the other day he decided that he wanted to play it again and bought the game. That prompted me to re-download it, and we have been playing for probably a month now. I get a few games in here and there, and have been working through the “prestige” levels, as there really isn’t anything else for me to do. It’s definitely fun to play with someone in the same house though. I’ll have more on these games later on. Until then.