League Updates

There’s been a bunch of cool stuff coming down the pipeline in League. Much of this is old news if you regularly visit the official website, but I’ve had a busy week and hadn’t gotten around to commenting on any of this until now. I have actually been delving more deeply into games in my PS3 backlog, though more additions via the IGC and sales are keeping that an arduous task. I have another post in the works regarding that gaming, look for that soon.

Riot has been trending towards infographics, and though I can’t explain why exactly, I have always enjoyed these. The first is a rather large one, highlighting various facts about the League of Legends community. Here’s a snippet:

infographic

These are features that we all take for granted (well, maybe not so much the colorblind mode, I don’t personally know anyone with that problem) and use all of the time. I particularly enjoy smart ping, and have used it in every single game since it’s inclusion. Check out the full infographic here.

That post popped up about a week ago. Today another infographic of sorts was posted, this time highlighting the benefits of being a team player. Instead of a static image, this one was made into a video, and is definitely worth keeping in mind. People that are toxic ruin games for everyone, not just themselves. Check out the video:

Next up, there’s some champion re-works in progress. These aren’t mechanics re-works, rather they are visual upgrades. These kinds of updates have been going on for some time, and have already happened for Annie, Ashe, Master Yi, and others. The oldest champions sometimes become dated looking upon newer champion releases, so in an effort to make everything look on par, Riot has done a good job of updating the look and feel of some of the classic champs. Garen has been officially announced recently, and I think that he looks a lot more imposing than he once did, though he’s not on my list of played champions, unless I get him in an ARAM. Check it out:

GaScl4j2a

On a more unofficial note, Sivir is also rumored to be getting a visual upgrade, but nothing has been announced by Riot just yet. I found this concept art via LeagueCraft:

62610_653847124633839_1727575744_n

She definitely looks better than she used to, but I’m interested in seeing how it affects her skins and her combat animations/effects. Since her mechanic re-work a while back she seems plenty viable, so the visual update at least will make her feel like a new champion again.

Lastly, there are some new skins and some sales that are worth checking out. A while back, “Pool Party Ziggs” was released, and apparently got the community clamoring for more summer-esque skins for other champions. I don’t know how they end up picking which champions get this sort of treatment, but it feels like the champions that I love the most don’t get the love that other champions do. Ziggs is a character I love, but I don’t really play any of the other champs that are in the pool party package. I’m not really into these skins at all, though I have seen other thematic skin packages that would have been cool, were there different champions included. Anyway, all my bitching aside, check out the Pool Party skins here.

I had some RP sitting around, so I decided to take advantage of some of the recent sales. The newest champion and skin sale saw me picking up Hecarim for 487 RP. Hecarim is one of the champions that released quite some time ago, but that I never really played. I never even really gave him much thought because I don’t jungle all that often. He only seems fit to be a jungler, so outside of trying him once or twice, he was overlooked. Until I played with my friend who is a Gold tier ranked player. Seeing him play Hecarim made me want to play Hecarim. I need to get some practice, but I’d like to think I could pull of some similar things. There’s also a sale on Boosts (IP & RP), 50% off until the 16th. I still had 300 and some RP left after my first purchase, so I figured why not? I grabbed up a 10 win IP boost and that should get me to where I can purchase another new champion fairly quickly.

I feel better being caught up. Hopefully this doesn’t all reach you as old news.