August IGC

I’m a little late to the party, as usual. But yesterday the preview of this month’s Playstation Plus updates were posted on the Official Playstation Blog. More importantly, today’s update is already live, and this is what you get:

9431730410_5af207cc84_z

Hitman Absolution is the “blockbuster” title this month, and really the only one I’m looking forward to playing. It’s downloading as I type this, so I cannot comment on the game at all yet. But I know that I semi-enjoyed one of the earlier installments on PS2, so I imagine it will be worth a play. The sales today are pretty meh… I have no interest in these other games. One game of note that released today that you can’t get for free: Dragon’s Crown.

Upon first glance, Dragon’s Crown appears to be a straight up side-scrolling hack n slash sort of game. But from what I’ve seen/read, it appears to be much deeper than that. Commentary has included RPG elements (character building), side paths in levels (re-play-ability), and a great co-op experience. I love the art styling of the game, and the animation appears top-notch. I was expecting the game to run in the $15-20 range, which I would have immediately spent. However its wearing a $50 price tag, and I can’t swing that right now. Hopefully I’ll have more to report on this game later. IGN gives the game a pretty glowing review.

Later this month we are being treated to “Bit.Trip Presents Runner2: Future Legend of Rhythm Alien” which is one hell of a mouth full. I really know nothing about this game, and it appears to play much like Jetpack Joyride and similar games. Could be a good time killer, but seems pretty meh. Finally, on the PS3 end of it, we’ll be getting “Zen Pinball 2: Star Wars Pinball”. Pinball games are always a good time waster, though I was disappointed with the last one we got, Pinball Arcade. It had great graphics and the machines were very life-like, but the requirement to spend more money for tables to enjoy sort of defeated the purpose of getting it for free. Hopefully this version of Zen Pinball will be all-inclusive. Still, you can’t go wrong with Pinball or Star Wars.

On the Vita end of the coin, the aforementioned pinball game is a cross-buy. The other free games are “Darkstalkers Chronicle: The Chaos Tower” and “Machinarium”. Darkstalkers has always been a cool IP, so I imagine this game will be fun. Machinarium was free for the PS3 last month (or perhaps the month before, I’m not remembering off-hand), and I can say that it’s a fun game. It’s very basic and puzzling, but I enjoyed the art direction and it’s a good game to break up the monotony of the same old. I still have yet to purchase a Vita, so I can’t really comment on any of the free games that have been released for it, but I know that I have quite the game collection when I finally do pick one up. I intend to do so before or at the same time as I get a PS4, mainly because of the integration that’s coming.

Overall this is a weaker month than some, but there is still hope for sales. Perhaps something really cool will be cheap. More on this later.