Patch 3.9

It’s that time again, another round of patch notes for League of Legends. This time around, there are some balance changes for a few specific champs, some item changes, a new item added to The Howling Abyss, and other general tweaks. For me, it’s a ho-hum patch, as the champions mostly affected by changes are ones that I don’t play all that much, but I am excited about the new item. Here’s the video, you can see for yourself:

I really do like the addition of the new item, “Orb of Winter” to the ARAM map. It’s basically a Hexdrinker that gives more magic resist, and gives health regen instead of attack damage, also providing a “bubble”. It is unclear if the item grants protection from magic damage like the Hexdrinker, or if it’s any kind of damage, or if it’s a true bubble like Banshee’s Veil or Sivir’s spell shield. I suppose we will find out soon enough. From the notes:

Howling Abyss

  • Added new item: Orb of Winter
    • Recipe: Rejuvenation Bead + Rejuvenation Bead + Negatron Cloak
    • Total Gold Cost: 2080 (combine cost: 1180)
    • +70 Magic Resist
    • +20 Health Regen per 5 seconds
    • Unique Passive: Grants a shield that absorbs damage. The shield will refresh after a short period without taking damage.

For the complete patch notes, click here.

In other news, the champion I was discussing in my last post has been revealed, and boy was I off. I was guessing his weapons were throwing hammers, and he would be a bruiser or a tank. One of my readers actually tipped me off that his name is Lucian, and he actually appears to be a carry, and his weapons are some sort of guns. I am happy with these facts, because I prefer ADCs to any other champion type, it just suits my play style. It was also unclear if he will be included in this patch, but I find it unlikely as he was not included in the patch notes. More on him later.

Lastly, if you have some money burning a hole in your pocket, some more skin bundles have been announced, at ridiculously low prices (I assume that these packages will also take into account the champs/skins you already own, and lower the price even more). After the sale ends, these skins are going to be retired, so if you see something you like it’s your last chance to get it! Check those out here.

That’s all for this edition.