Shadows and Reflections

Summer has officially arrived. It has been hovering above 100 degrees every day for the last couple of weeks. This is depressing news for someone like me, a fall child, who enjoys rain, clouds and chilly weather. But most people seem to enjoy this weather, and it is a time of celebration for our country because of Independence Day, and because of the lack of school and other summer activities. In keeping with the spirit of the season, Riot has announced Bonus Riot Points starting today and ending on July 12th. Package info is as follows:

Here’s a breakdown of how much RP you’ll receive for purchases during the Summer Bonus:

  • $5.00 – 650 RP
  • $10.00 – 1460 RP (1300 + 80 standard bonus RP + 80 extra bonus RP)
  • $20.00 – 3000 RP (2600 + 200 standard bonus RP + 200 extra bonus RP)
  • $35.00 – 5450 RP (4550 + 450 standard bonus RP + 450 extra bonus RP)
  • $50.00 – 7900 RP (6500 + 700 standard bonus RP + 700 extra bonus RP)
  • $100.00 – 17000 RP (13000 + 2000 standard bonus RP + 2000 extra bonus RP)

Normally I would be excited by this news, as it had been quite some time since I had the funds to justify buying some RP, but I actually just purchased $20 worth just last week, so I missed out on 200 extra RP, which could have netted me another skin or champion that was on sale. This seems to happen to me all the time, whether it’s this instance or something that goes on sale after I buy it on PSN. Story of my life.

In other LoL news, there was also a teaser posted for a new upcoming champion that surprisingly, I haven’t heard anything about already (I usually know about new champions before they’re officially announced). This image raises some questions:

lg

At first glance it appeared to be a gun of some sort, but after some inspection I’m thinking that it’s a throwing hammer. A second image was present with the announcement, but the different angle doesn’t help me in determining the exact function of the item. I’m guessing we have a bruiser or tank incoming, but we’ll have to see once more details are revealed (or leaked). On with the lore:

When we took up these weapons, we accepted our mission with pride. Rid Runeterra of evil, they told us. Slay the corrupt. Send the filth of the world crawling back to the hole it crawled out of. Not just anyone can wield these weapons. You need a pure heart. A fearless mind. An inner light that outshines all the darkness in the world. Once I had that light. Now I’m not so sure.

Everything changed. We knew our mission was greater than ourselves. The enemy was not who we fought, but what we fought. Evil. The Shadow Isles? Just another mess to clean up, just a bunch of ghosts. They were abominations, but nothing we hadn’t put in the ground before. Until the day we faced him. Until the day he ripped her from my life.

Now my enemy has a name. She wouldn’t want me to come after her—she knew the risks. But I can’t forget her. I won’t forget her. I’ll hunt down the bastard who took her from me and send him straight to the grave.

Twice, if I have to.

Lore-wise, this sounds like a paladin or crusader. I’m picturing an EQ 2 Paladin with the winged helm, equipped with throwing hammers. I guess we’ll find out soon enough.

4 thoughts on “Shadows and Reflections

    • Yeah you know there really isn’t a League blogging community… at least I haven’t found enough blogs that post on a consistent basis about the game.

      Like

  1. Oh by the way this concept artwork is definitely Lucian, that champion that was leaked a while ago but has now been confirmed by Riot employees as being a champion. Here is a helpful video about it from Pawnce:

    Like

  2. New Evelynn lore maybe?

    I know this is for the new champion. He looks amazing and cool and represents a nice change in offering opposition to the Shadow Isles. But he references a her. “Until the day he ripped her from my life.” “She wouldn’t want me to come after her–she knew the risks. But I can’t forget her. I’ll hunt down the bastard who took her from me and send him straight to the grave.”

    Elise and Evelynn are the only two from the caste of the Shadow Isles who are female. Since Elise’s lore is quite fleshed out and she seems pretty plainly to be in it for herself (though possibly they could play the Ebonmaw and transformation aspect), I feel this is a great opportunity to get back to the mysterious blue smurf without real backstory. Riot could do some really cool stuff with this (Bad guy corrupts powerful fighter for the light into the creature we now know as Evelynn).

    For those who are going to suggest that she’s simply dead, the “She wouldn’t want me to come after her” could fit that. But we’re talking about the Shadow Isles here, which IMO means even death isn’t a way out of servitude to the male figure here, whether it’s Mordekaiser, Hecarim, Karthus, Thresh, or some other as-of-yet unnamed evildoer (IMO Morde). The “Twice, if I have to” line actually isn’t that important here, as most of the Shadow Isles cast is dead/undead already. It doesn’t really narrow much down.

    For those who keep talking about the “L” and “S” on his guns, there seem to be several theories. First, my favorite, is “Light” and “Shadow.” “Lucien” and “Shauna” are also possibilities, relating to Vayne’s first name. However, continuing in that vein (auditory pun not intended), does anyone know what Eve’s name was before her present state (Susan for the luls? Or I did hear a really good one, Sable)? And for those accusing Yorick of being our villain, what has he ever done? Dig holes? He’s a rather peaceful character. As for Aatrox, I’d (personally) rather see a Shadow Isles villain, as otherwise there would be little need to mention the SI. He’s also more of a neutral war god than anything that screams “EVIL!”

    Edit: The consensus is that the “kill twice” line (Thought I had a Red quote, let me know if you find it) does NOT refer to gameplay. Quit asking about Zilean/Zac/Trynd, please. They have absolutely nothing to do with the Shadow Isles.

    Edit2: Yorick’s ult is going to be changed when he gets his rework. So don’t base your theories around that.

    Like

Comments are closed.