Adaptations & Irritations

I have adapted to my living situation but I’m not all that happy about it. Sleeping on a couch sucks, as does not having my own space. The couch is actually not that big of an issue, it’s mainly an irritation not having my own space, so I can get away, or go to sleep or whatever. It is a huge issue dealing with other people’s habits. When I was at my Mom’s I had to deal with their BS. Now I’ve had to adapt to my Sister’s BS. Thank goodness for family, because I’d be completely fucked without them, but it makes me realize all that much more that I need to be on my own. I can’t handle slobs. I don’t get paid enough to be a maid. And I don’t like to compete for use of TVs, restrooms, etc, or having to be quiet when I don’t feel like it. Oh and I really hate biting my tongue. But enough of that negativity.

Things have been working out very well with Amanda. She is officially my girlfriend, and we have spent more time together than I would have expected, seeing as how she lives in San Bernardino. But unlike my previous girlfriend, this one actually wants to spend as much time with me as possible, rather than wanting to hang out with anyone else. She also isn’t judgemental in any way about where I am in my life. I’m sure it helps that I am school, at least I appear to want to make something of myself, despite not really being much of anything at the moment.

Speaking of school, I’m 3 days out from completing the initial orientation class. It’s been really easy, and rather redundant for someone like myself who knows their way around the internet, but a necessary evil to keep everyone on the same page. I finished the last of my work today, aside from the cumulative paper that will be due on Sunday entailing what I’ve learned through the course of the class. I’ll probably blow that out sometime over the weekend, and then I assume that I’ll be starting my regular classes starting Monday. I haven’t really been told as of yet, but I do know that I’ll have two classes at once, and there will be a lot more to do but I’m ready for the challenge. This class has been a yawn-fest.

On to my the nerdier portions of my life. I went to a movie with Amanda the other day, she was nice enough to let me pick, so we ended up seeing Battle: Los Angeles. She loved it as much as I did, so I am happy to report she isn’t into the typical chick flicks. Yesterday I went over to hang out with Ted, and in his usual fashion he want to go buy a new DVD. We ended up at Wal-Mart and he picked up a copy of Tron Legacy. I protested, because I’m not a fan of the original. I figured just like much of my childhood, Hollywood would ruin this reboot, and it’s an IP I already wasn’t interested in. Despite my protest, I got stuck watching it, and I was somewhat surprised. I won’t say I loved it, but I will say that it had some awesome special effects, and there were some key parts of the story that were pretty cool. But because it was a Disney flick, there were the obligatory religious overtones and unnecessary family messages that got a little annoying. The there was the character “Zuse”, which was the Jar Jar Binks of this movie, and damn near ruined it. I’d give it a 6.5/10; it’s a renter.

I went through my blogroll/links and decided there were some changes to be made. I added some websites that I frequent, and eliminated sites/blogs that I never read. One of the sites of note is Hip Hop DX, and the reason I point it out is not because of what kind of site it is, but because of what that symbolizes. I have re-discovered my love for hip-hop or rap, whichever you want to call it. The beginning of the re-emergence was Eminem’s newest album. I haven’t been able to stop listening to that CD for months. Discovering Yelawolf helped things along. Curiosity encouraged me to look up artists I already knew I like and catch up with their discographies. Finally, Amanda is a fan of the genre, so I’ve found a lot of new stuff through her, and it’s something we can compromise on (as she isn’t a fan of metal, and I’m not a fan of country).

On the gaming front I have been playing on my PC mostly the last few weeks. I was frustrated with the loss of my PS3, so I ended up trying to find something worthwhile to play on the laptop. After some trial and error I ended up going with the tried and true, and started up a new game in Torchlight. My first time through the game I played a Destroyer, and that character had already been retired. So I started up an Alchemist, aiming to go for pet overload. I started off with a build that was mixing around various skills from all of the trees, but then I started regretting some of my choices. I did some research and found out that there’s quite the modding community for the game. So I ended up downloading a respec mod that gives one of the merchants in town potions that allow respecs for skills and stats. I ended up honing my build and am currently level 30 and running through pretty steadily. It’s still the same old game, but it’s been fun for a change of pace.

Today I finally decided that it would be a good idea to try to transfer my save games from the hard drive in my PS3 to my Sister’s hard drive. She had a USB flash drive, so I had all the necessary tools. I took the hard drive out of my system and popped it into her’s, and instead of just firing up as usual, a message was displayed that said something about formatting the “system partition”, but to put the newest system update on a storage device (the USB drive) before starting. So I downloaded the 3.60 system update onto my laptop and transferred it to the flash drive, inserted the drive into the PS3 and then proceeded. The process ended up formatting the entire drive, so I lost the save games that I was trying to rescue. So it was just a waste of time. Determined to still do something, I loaded up Dragon Age: Origins and started working towards more trophies. I decided I want to get the Platinum before I get DA2, so I made some progress today. I’m just glad that I have the ability to earn trophies on my account, despite no longer having a working PS3. At least I can still feel a little accomplished. Steam achievements just don’t seem to do it for me.

I think I crammed about as much into this post as possible. Until next time.