When Customer Service Works

Having recently re-installed Steam when I got my laptop a few months back, I started playing some of the games I had on my account, and since have gotten a copy of Puzzle Quest 2. I had a few games already, and have been looking into getting more. While browsing through the store, I found quite a few games I knew that I already had, and realized I used to have a Steam account when the service was in its infancy.

Trying to recall the particulars about that account was sketchy. Not being able to remember what my login info was, I decided to attempt to contact Steam Support. The conversation between me and support started last Monday, and I had to jump some hurdles, but in all honesty it wasn’t that bad. Of course they had to ask me a bunch of questions to try and verify my identity, and my memory was fuzzy. I opened this old account back in 2005, and I have had far too many usernames, passwords, and accounts through various services to remember what email I had or username I used. To my surprise, they worked with me quite well, and somehow managed to re-associate my old account with my new email. As of yesterday, I have access to that account again, and got to download Half-Life, Opposing Force, Blue Shift, Half-Life 2, HL2DM, Counter-Strike Source and Day of Defeat Source. I had access to a few other mods, but didn’t download those at the time. It was a blast from the past playing these games again, and come to find out I really suck at them now.

The only issue I had was that there is no way to merge the accounts. So I can only play the above listed games on one account, and my newer games on the other. But I suppose that’s not too horrible, it just requires switching accounts as the need arises. So for those of you that have steam, if you happen to want to look me up, I’m running under the usernames Built For Sin, and gdub4_1982. It’s nice to see that sometimes companies will actually work with you and not push you aside for more pressing matters.