Trophy Whore

I have decidedly become a trophy whore. A synonym for this would be an achievement whore, were I an Xbox 360 gamer, which I am not. I suppose that could be true of someone who gets crazy with Steam achievements too, and though I have some Steam games, I don’t play on my laptop nearly as much now that I have steered away from MMOs (although I have felt the urge to play one again, although I don’t want to go back to any of the ones I played previously, but more on that some other time).

For the uninitiated, Trophies are the Playstation 3’s version of Achievements. While playing a game, performing certain actions (such as discovering a new area in the game, beating a boss, beating the game, or sometimes something silly) rewards a trophy. Again, the Xbox 360 and PC versions are called achievements, and also certain MMOs use the same terminology (EQ2 and WoW both have these). You would think that simply beating the game would reward most if not all of the trophies available, but in my experience that never happens. Completion of the games I’ve played resulted in at minimum 17% of the available trophies, and at maximum somewhere around 45%. Most games require either multiple playthroughs, or paying close attention to what is required to earn certain trophies. At this point in time I have yet to gain 100% on any game, my highest to date being 83%. That game is also the only one in which I earned a Platinum trophy, which is typically given when you earn all trophies that released with the game. DLC trophies typically don’t affect the Platinum trophy.

Another part of the terminology that differs is that the 360 gives a “gamer score” based on the amount of achievements completed, whereas the Playstation counterpart is a level. When signed in to PSN your profile depicts a level with a percentage below it; reaching 100% takes you to the next level. As of right now I’m a level 6, and of all my friends on PSN the only person higher level than me is Hurt, of Socially Sour. I’m catching up though, and I rarely seem him online. This is your warning buddy.

So in the last few months I found my passion for console gaming again. I was playing very casually when I was still doing the MMO thing, now I play daily for the most part, being single helps that along. The only new game I purchased was Lost Planet 2, and if you are even remotely interested in that title, don’t waste your time. The single player was horrible, the AI was horrible, and the multi-player was horrible. I may have been spoiled by the excellent multi-player of Uncharted 2, but Capcom could definitely do better.

Aside from that shitty purchase (which I coincidentally just traded in today, but more on that in a bit), I have just played the shit out of the games I own, and also borrowed games from my step-dad. My passion for trophies started a while back, when I got Uncharted 2. Initially the game came with single player trophies only, and I earned a couple of them from my first playthrough of the game. Then I got the DLC which included multiplayer trophies, and have earned a few of those thus far. In the multiplayer there are skins which required getting all of the single player trophies, including playing the game on all difficulty levels and some random ones that were kind of difficult to achieve. I decided to start there, and the addiction started.

I then went back and played Dragon Age a second time through to get more trophies. Then I finally went back and beat Borderlands, and got some more. I then finished Lost Planet 2. Then I borrowed Resident Evil 5 Gold Edition, Resistance 2, Batman: Arkham Asylum, and Infamous from my step-dad. With the games I borrowed I didn’t really try hard to get all of the trophies, just got the ones I could; I quickly beat those games so I could borrow new ones. Now that I’m living here again, all of his games are available to me, so I’m working my way through them slowly but surely, and I can always go back for more playthroughs to get more of the trophies. It typically depends on my mood what game I play, but even though these trophies mean nothing, it’s been fun and gives more replay-ability to these games.

As of today I traded in Lost Planet 2, because like Fallout 3, it was a game I really didn’t enjoy, so I didn’t want to keep it. I ended up getting a PSN card and did some shopping. I decided on two of the DLCs for Borderlands, because I decided to start up a 2nd playthrough of that game, and the DLC will keep me busy even longer. The third DLC that’s available right now will have to wait, and a 4th is scheduled for release on the 28th. Unfortunately funds limited me, but maybe by then I can get both. Through my shopping, I discovered that the final DLC for Dragon Age was released (because the sequel is due out in February I believe) already, so that leaves 5 DLCs for that game I have yet to purchase, which again I might be able to get by the end of the month. Crossing my fingers.

On the Horizon is Dragon Age II, a Mass Effect 2 release for the PS3, Twisted Metal, and Marvel vs. Capcom 3. I’m also a little more excited for Call of Duty: Black Ops than I was for Modern Warfare 2, but that’s because I heard terrible things about that game. I’ve also seen some gameplay footage of the new Medal of Honor, and I am intrigued. It looks to mesh CoD and Battlefield, and if it does it would take the cake.

If anyone is still reading my blog, can anyone recommend any of the “minis” games, or the PSN downloadable games? Some of them look interesting but with Super Nintendo-esque graphics and limited descriptions/pictures/videos, I’m not sure they are up to par with their price tags. I know some of the WiiWare titles were actually really good, so is there something comparable?

One thought on “Trophy Whore

  1. I really enjoyed Fallout 3 and hope that they don’t screw up the next installment for fallout. I have not tried any of the mini’s myself, but really enjoyed a psn game called Critter Crunch.

    Like

Comments are closed.