With Any Luck…

…I’ll be back in Norrath tonight.

I started the process last night after I got home from work. I didn’t get off until 10, so it was a late start anyway, but I had hoped to get the game installed and let the patcher run overnight while I slept (I had to work early this morning).

I did get the game installed from the TSO DVDs, but then I made a boo boo. When attempting to re-subscribe to EQ2, I accidentally subscribed to EQ1. Oops. I ended up contacting customer service via email, but it was already after midnight so I called it.

When I got home from work this afternoon, I had a response. Apparently money cannot be transferred between games, so I ended up subbing to EQ2, and replying to the email for a refund on the accidental EQ1 subscription. Hopefully that extra $15 will be refunded promptly.

So, the tedious task of downloading all of the patches and game updates from the past near-year began a couple hours ago. According to the patcher, I still have 3 hours to go. So, I’ve been doing other things… reading the forums, doing some laundry, making phone calls. You know, important stuff. With any luck, the patcher is a filthy liar and I will be able to play for at least an hour or two before I have to crash out. I know from pouring over the forums I have a lot of stuff to go over, AA-wise, and just familiarizing myself with the new features in general. Even if I do manage to log on tonight, I probably won’t accomplish much.

I was supposed to be off tomorrow and Friday. But because of a fiasco at work, I now have to go in for a couple hours in the morning. We have an older employee at work, a woman in her mid-60s. She’s nice enough but when it comes to work performance and parts/sales knowledge she’s lacking. Honestly, if they were to fire her I think the store would benefit from it. My boss has been at wits end with her, mainly because she butts heads with him, but also because of her lack of motivation and/or knowledge. Basically, she’s a burden on our whole sales team.

She topped things off a couple days ago by setting a customer’s car on fire (or nearly, the story could be a little over-exaggerated). Apparently while the boss was distracted, she asked if he could install a battery. He said he would when he was done with what he was doing, but that wasn’t good enough. She took it upon herself to install the battery (which is odd considering I’ve never seen her do that, she usually puts any sort of manual labor off on the men in the store). From what he told me, when he went outside to take care of the battery himself, he just saw smoke rising from the engine compartment, and had to disconnect the battery. He said that she had connected the terminals backwards, which could have caused the battery to explode.

Did she get fired for this? Nope, a simple write up. She was at work today. How, I do not know. I assume that anyone else who had made the same mistake would have been terminated on the spot. If it was my store, I would have terminated her on the spot. Anyhow, because of her mistake, the company incurs the cost of repair. Where did the customer decide to take their vehicle for repair? One of competitors of course, Pep Boys. Because of this fact, he’s been having to go back and forth with our corporate office, district manager, Pep Boys, and the customer to resolve the issue. So, he asked if I could come in tomorrow in the morning to cover the store for a couple hours while he does a few things regarding the claim, and then I can go home.

Normally I avoid being called in to work. I don’t particularly like overtime even if it means a larger pay check, mainly because I don’t feel that I get enough free time as is. But lately I’ve needed more money because of bills and whatnot, so for once I agreed. As it is, tomorrow is pay day so I would have had to make the drive to get my check anyway, and I already had to get up early to give my mom a ride to work which I had agreed to previously.

So because of extraneous factors, I now have to try to make it to bed at a decent time, which most likely means no EQ2. Although a “decent” time for me is usually around midnight, opening the next day or not. So I might be in game for a few minutes at best.

The plan for tomorrow is now as follows: Take Mom to work, go to my work, stay til checks come in, come back to town and cash my check, pay bills, and then come home and veg out. At least until the evening when Hollee gets off, then I’ll probably be going to her house. On Friday we have another band practice, this time earlier in the afternoon so we should have a good one. Then I open Saturday and have Sunday off, which means football all day. Then I work Monday evening and have Tuesday off, so I should get some gaming in here and there over the next few days, after that, it’s up in the air.

My next post should be more EQ2 related, and less RL related. Pasta.