Where the Hell did August Go?

I can’t seem to bring myself to post much anymore… mainly because I know that it’s going to be a bunch of random shit most people have no desire to read…

I’ve been doing much of the same. My day-in day-out routine consists of getting up for work, getting off work and heading home. Eating some food, watching t.v. or a movie, maybe drinking a beer or two, and then going to bed. There are variants thrown in there at times, but overall I’ve been leading a very boring life.

There have still been outings, and they’ve been fun. Just not necessarily post worthy, so I’ve been having to wait a couple weeks to accumulate enough to write about for a single post. I do apologize for the absence, hopefully I’ll be able to find more inspiration more often.

So the most exciting things I’ve done over the past couple weeks was going bowling on Saturday two weeks ago, and then going to Barry’s going away party this last saturday. Bowling was pretty uneventful, I did have a couple decent games, breaking 100, but that’s still shitty compared to what some of the guys from work can do. Jeff bowled a 200 at one point, but he also bowls in a league. Barry’s going away party was fucking awesome, and one of the best parties I’ve been to in a long time. A lot of people showed up, there was some great food, plenty of beer, and no drama whatsoever.

The party was at Chris’ house, he’s the slot tech manager, and Ray who is another officer with me, lives with him. He had recently purchased a pool table (actually he snaked it from us, but that’s a story for another day), and he hooked up his garage for the occasion, finishing it off, painting, setting up a bar, and just going all out in general. I arrived at about 7:30 and there were a few people there. I brought my camera because it hadn’t seen much use in quite some time, and I snapped over 200 photos over the course of the evening. It was a very good turn out by the time things really got going, and we played pool, darts, bullshitted, and there was some dancing towards the end, because one of our co-workers Gonzalo is a D.J.

Barry is another Officer from work, and he’s moving back to his home state of North Carolina. Him leaving is a good thing for me, because I got to request to get my days off changed to his. He has weekends off, so I’ll be getting them back whenever my manager decides to do it. Unfortunately we’re pretty short handed at work because of paternity leaves, vacations, and a couple guys quitting. So I may be waiting for a while, but I’m still excited to be getting weekends off again. I enjoyed them when I had them before, and that means I won’t have to miss out on anything, or miss out on sleep because I have to go to work the next day. Most of our work functions end up being on Saturday, and I always have to work the next day so I miss out on sleep. During that last party, I ended up staying way too late, and I only got 4 hours of sleep for work the next day, which really sucked. So having weekends off will help considerably.

In other news, I’ve picked up some new music, and also watched some more movies. This month saw the release of The Human Abstract’s “Midheaven”, along with Slipknot’s “All Hope Is Gone”. I picked up both, and both are very good. THA’s album is nothing like their previous album, “Nocturne”, but is still good in it’s own way. A progressive metal band shouldn’t have two albums that sound alike anyhow. If you like the band, you’ll pick it up anyway, but a full stream was available on their myspace so you could see if you would like it before hand. I personally think that it still rocks, even if it’s all over the place. Slipknot is a band I was never really fond of back when they first took off. Of course, I wasn’t really into the metal scene back then, especially main-stream stuff. Now that I’m most definitely a “metal-head”, I can appreciate their music, even if they are main-stream. All Hope Is Gone sounds much like any of their other stuff that I’ve heard, but it still rocks out for the larger portion of the album, with only a couple slow songs. A must have for any fan.

I also went and downloaded a few albums from a couple bands I had heard of, but hadn’t heard their stuff. A couple reviews I read for THA’s new album said something about a band called Protest the Hero doing the progressive metal thing better. So I went ahead and downloaded their two albums, Kezia and Fortress. I think they’re fucking awesome, and definitely something any self-respecting metal fan should take a look at. The singer’s voice takes a little adjusting to, but overall they’re a great band. THA is also going on tour with a few other bands I like, including All That Remains and Trivium, but there was another band on the bill I had never heard, called 36 Crazyfists. Strange band name, but I thought “what the hell?”. So I downloaded some of their stuff, and I liked them too. A little slower tempo than I usually go for, but still a good band nonetheless. Those four bands are going on a tour together, and the closest venue to me is in Bakersfield. I would make that trip to see a good show, but I can’t afford it at the moment… alas.

I’ve watched a few movies here and there, but out of all of them I would most definitely recommend seeing Street Kings. It’s one hell of a ride, but make sure you pay close attention… it jumps around quite a bit. I made one DVD purchase myself a couple days ago, while browsing movies with Ted at Wally World. I ended up picking up Robot Chicken Season 1, which is something I’ve wanted for quite some time, but hadn’t ever seen. They had both season 1 and 2 for only $16 a piece, but I only had enough cash on me for the first. I plan to pick up season 2 when I get paid next, and I’m sure season 3 should be hitting DVD soon, as I saw a commercial last night stating season 4 starts this Sunday. Good shit.

That’s about all I have for this post… One final note: I rolled over 20,000 hits somewhere in the last week. Not bad for only a year.

One thought on “Where the Hell did August Go?

Comments are closed.