Where Does The Time Go?

June has nearly passed, along with half of 2008. Honestly, where the hell does all the time go? Before I know it I’m going to be 30, then 40, and so on. I remember when years used to seem like years, and now they seem like months… I assume the older you get the faster it goes, so soon enough the years will feel like days, and then only moments… and then I’ll be dead. Hopefully it doesn’t come too quickly… there’s still a lot of things I want to do.

I’ve spent a little bit of money on myself the past couple of days. Yesterday I called off because I didn’t feel much like working. When I got up I lounged around for a while, and then I decided that I was going to go buy a movie, grab some food, and come home to eat and watch. I went to Wal-mart and was unimpressed by any of the new releases. I looked through the cheap DVD racks, and was still unable to find anything I couldn’t live without. I continued to browse though, and eventually fell upon “The Adventure Collection”, which is the original Indiana Jones trilogy. This is something I’ve wanted to pick up for quite some time, and having recently watched The Kingdom of the Crystal Skull, I wanted to watch the originals. Out of the original three, the first was released before I was born, the second when I was a year old, and the third I got to see in the theater (plus I had watched the first two before then). So of course I’m a fan, and I will purchase the fourth when it’s released on DVD. All great movies, and I’m surprised how well the originals stood the test of time. I watched Raiders yesterday, and it was a real treat, despite being 27 years old.

In the interim I got some calls from friends and found out about a group of them going to someone’s house to go swimming, barbecue and all that. So after the movie I headed out. I had to stop and buy some board shorts since I haven’t had any in years, and then I bought some beer, and then headed over. It was a friend from work’s mom’s house. There were a few other friends from work there, along with more of her family, and a bunch of kids. Overall it was a good time, I ended up in the pool for a little while and then in the jacuzzi drinkin beers til around midnight when everyone decided it was time to call it a night.

Today I lounged around some more, until I decided I needed to buy a new pair of shoes. The ones I had been wearing were looking pretty shitty; falling apart. So I headed over to my favorite place to buy skate shoes, and took a gander at their selection. I ended up liking a couple different pairs, but decided on the pair of DVS I’m now wearing.

I got tattooed the other day. Amanda’s (my ex-girlfriend from way back) boyfriend Keith has a friend named Scottie who does tattoos, and I was invited to partake. He ended up hooking me up with the Tiger Army bat, then some fill on existing line work. For $60 it was fair-priced, and he did good work. I’ll be going back to him again some day. Today I had an appointment with my normal tattoo artist Mike, but he ended up pushing me back to Sunday, so I might be getting it done then. I don’t know yet, because I have some more pressing things to take care of and after I get my pay check today I will know what I’ll have left over. So that’s pretty much up in the air for now.

Later on tonight I’m supposed to go to a friend’s and then possibly to a club in Riverside. Not sure exactly what’s going to happen. I’ve talked to a few other people with other plans, and I’m not sure what I’ll choose to do, but nonetheless I’m going to try to have some fun tonight. That’s about all for now.

One thought on “Where Does The Time Go?

  1. Yeah, the older you get, the faster time flies.

    I remember when I was a kid, the 9-month school year seemed to be endless and I just couldn’t fathom how horrid it was that I had to spend 12 years of my life that way.

    The first few years of college were the same way as were my first couple of years of working after graduation.

    Somewhere along the way, someone strapped some nitrous oxide to Father TIme’s ass though. I realized this past weekend that I’m nearly 40 now. It seems like just yesterday that I turned 30 and I can remember my high school graduation like it just happened maybe 5 years ago.

    Like

Comments are closed.