Shifty

I’m in one of those moods again.

One of those moods where I would rather stay away from gaming, and focus on real life stuff. But on the flip side, I want nothing more to just stay in tonight and veg out. I don’t want to move away from my hobbies, because they are a huge part of my life. But I don’t want to let those hobbies control me, because then I miss out on *real* life. Time spent is time wasted if you feel that way. It’s time well spent if you choose to view it in a different light. I’m not sure how I feel half the time, and the single life has made the simple things harder to enjoy. Almost every night I get invitations to more than one happening. I have to pick and choose where it is I want to go, what I want to do, and who I want to do the chosen activity with. Most people would be say “hey moron, that means you have a lot of people who like you and you should be happy in your new-found popularity”. I, on the other hand, sometimes just want to sit at home and do nothing, but I always manage to make myself feel like I’m missing something.

Anyway, aside from the ability to do anything I want and having a lot of opportunities to have fun, I’m really missing my gaming time. I made a decision a couple days ago; I’m going to invest in some new gaming. My EQ2 account has lapsed, and I could just pay for that and play it, but honestly, I’m going back to not really caring about the game. I keep giving it chances and every time it gets easier to leave. Almost all of the blogs I read have moved on from that game, or have bounced around between many other MMOs. I’m partially wanting to move on to a new MMO now, but then again I might just wait for Warhammer. In the meantime, I’ve decided to purchase a Nintendo DS. For those of you living under a rock, that’s Nintendo’s latest portable game system (like the gameboy). My sister has one, and I’ve done a little research and I have found a shitload of games I want for it. So that’s gonna be my next big purchase, and at $130, it’s reasonably priced.

I have to wait until either my stimulus check comes (which is going to be on the 20th), or for my next check til I can make that purchase, but either way I’m getting one. In the meantime, I decided to give LOTRO Online a whirl, I’m downloading the 14 day trial as I write this. I’ll check that out, and who knows? If it ends up being good maybe I’ll buy it. If not, I’ll probably just wait for WAR and play single player games until then. I still have a lot of other things to do, so single player games tend to be better for me now. I can put them down a lot easier, and on shorter notice.

So that’s what’s going on with me at the moment. Things are weird, but good.

One thought on “Shifty

  1. Poor, poor soul…

    LOTRO will make you sad..

    It is fun for about the first few levels…then you will see the grind of killing boars and bears over and over…
    Unless you play as a Hobbit…then you get to run everyone’s errands ad nauseum..

    But, please write about your experience…I personally had more fun in EQ2 than LOTRO…but, how about you?

    cheers

    Like

Comments are closed.