Another Vacation

Today is the first day of another vacation for me. I’ll be off until March 10th, taking just a week off of work. The major reason I’ve taken the time off, is because I’m getting married.

Originally we were due to get married last November. Gina spoke with her Dad and he offered to pay for nearly everything, but when it came down to it, he sort of flaked on us. So we had planned on doing it this March, since we would have our tax returns and that should have been enough money to take care of things ourselves. Well, our tax returns have come and gone, and we didn’t put anything towards getting married. I’ve already spoken of what we did spend it on, so I won’t go into that again. A few weeks ago I started thinking of just going to Las Vegas this week, and getting married there, but after finding out what it would cost we didn’t really have the money. Then we talked about just going to the courthouse and getting married there, and then we were going to have the reception at our house, a couple days later. We decided on just doing the ceremony and the reception all in the same day, at our house, on March 8th (next Saturday). So that’s the plan for now.

Gina has been planning everything out, and it sounds like it will be pretty cool. A whole bunch of people have told us they want to come, so we should have a pretty good turnout, along with the family of course. I’m starting to get excited about it. For the longest time I hadn’t wanted to get married. I never thought I would go through with it, because I was afraid that it would just end in divorce, no matter who I married. But Gina is the right one for me, we’ve been through more shit than I’d like to remember, and we’re still going strong. So a week from today, I will no longer be a single man.

Life threw us another curve ball a few days ago. Our landlord told us that the owner of the house we just moved into wants to sell. He said that he doesn’t think it will sell anytime soon, but that we may want to think about preparing to move again. I’m so sick of moving, I couldn’t believe this was happening again. I felt cursed. The good news is, there are a lot of houses in the area, all of which are the same size or larger, and the price tags aren’t bad. A couple years ago when we were living on New Chicago, the owner of that house was about to be foreclosed on, so we were forced to move. When we mentioned buying the house, the owner wanted over $300,000, which we thought was a bit high. Luckily, the market has been on a plunge for a while now, and rather large houses in this newer area are going for $220,000 or less. John and Gina went around looking at places the other day, and they found one they liked, and John is in a position to buy, so he’s putting in an offer on Monday. This does mean we have to move again, which sucks, but it will be to a house in which we won’t have to worry about moving again for a long time. John already said that if he wants to move at a later date he will just sell the house to us, so it’s pretty much somewhere we can live for years, and that will be pretty nice.

I was playing PotBS pretty regularly, but then came to a point where I was pretty bored with it. I was thinking that maybe I had MMO burnout in general, but then I got the urge to play some EQ2, and I had at that for a few days in a row. I’ve come to understand one thing about myself. I played the shit out of EQ2 for almost 2 years, but there were break periods here and there. Then I was playing single player games for a while, though none held my interest. After playing PotBS for a while, I was entertained, but then got bored, just like I had with all other games. Spending a couple months not really playing many games, and having more of a social life was fun, but then I got to the point where I wanted to play games again. Basically, when it comes down to it, I get bored easily. So I’ve decided that rather than just playing one MMO, or one single player game at a time, I’m going to play whatever strikes my fancy at any given moment. I’ve been enjoying EQ2 again, but I also enjoy PotBS. I also enjoy playing CoD4, and some of the other single player games I’ve purchased recently. So from this moment further, my loyalty lies at no particular point, I will be flying by the seat of my pants. That is, probably only until WAR is released, then I’m pretty sure I’ll be playing that as fervently as I once played EQ2.

I’m sick. I started feeling like shit at work yesterday, and it got progressively worse as the day went on. At this point, I feel ok, probably only because I took some meds. When I woke up this morning I had a fever, some head pain, and a slight cough. I’ve still been smoking, and I’m sure that doesn’t help, but I’m trying to not smoke as much until whatever this is clears up. I hate being sick, so I’m going to try and take it easy over the next couple days, hopefully I’ll be able to kick it by Monday, so that I can start preparing for the wedding. We have a lot of shit to do over the next week, so I don’t want to feel like shit while doing it.

 That’s about all for now.

3 thoughts on “Another Vacation

Comments are closed.