Say Hello to Jorge Silva.

002.png     004.png

(Click the thumbnails for full-size images)

Yes, these are screen shots from Pirates of the Burning Sea, and yes, I am playing it. You see, the other day, me and my roomie John were at Wal-mart. He saw the game, and he couldn’t go without it, so he picked it up. I personally had no intentions of ever buying this game, because I was just waiting for WAR. That and it looked neat, but didn’t really seem like my cup o’tea. But after John got the game installed and patched and started playing it, I actually became quite intrigued. The next day I was at Wal-mart picking myself up a copy.

I finished patching at a decent time last night, so I was ready to play with a couple hours to spare. Captain Jorge Silva was born, as a Spanish Privateer, to work along with John’s character, Prospero Silva, also a Spanish Privateer. We rolled on the Blackbeard server, because it seemed to be the most populated, though we picked the Spanish Faction since it was listed as Light, along with French (and who wants to be French??). British and Pirate factions on that server were listed as moderate. Either way, I’ve seen a lot of people out on the open sea, and that’s a good thing.

I do intend on messing with the other factions, just to see what I can come up with, but this isn’t a game where having alts will make a huge difference, unless you just pick on faction, and then make one pirate. Otherwise I imagine it’s mostly the same. The game’s graphics are nice, and my system runs the game easily, which I didn’t think it would do. The sword fighting is a little button mashy, but the game play in the boats is awesome as hell. Me and John did one mission together where we had to sink 5 ships, and we did so easily, and it was a lot of fun. My Privateer is level 3 after having completed the tutorials and one other mission, and though it seems that level has no bearing, apparently some ships can’t be purchased until a certain level is reached. Needless to say, there’s still a lot I have left to learn.

So EQ2 may be on the back burner again, though I do have a subscription active. If I end up figuring out a way where I can have time to play both games, I just might activate the station pass, but I’m not sure. I’m thinking this game is going to be filler until WAR is released, and who knows when that’s happening. If it gets delayed again, I suppose I’ll be ok with that since I have plenty of entertainment at the moment. I just think that WAR is going to be the end-all be-all of MMOs for me… I’m pretty sure all others will be retired upon its release.

Anyway, that’s about it that’s new for now. The weekend approaches and I have no plans as of yet, so I’ll fill you in when I know what’s going on. Until then.

2 thoughts on “Say Hello to Jorge Silva.

Comments are closed.