The Light of Day

Last September, I put in a request to go to day shift. I told my Manager that I wanted to go to Days, and he told me to “put it in writing”. I did so, and then I didn’t hear anything about it for sometime. Not wanting to push the envelope, I let it go for a couple weeks. When I asked again, my boss said “we don’t have the bodies”. So there was a slight excuse for the wait. It took up until this week for something to finally change.

Earlier in the week, One of the day shift officers quit. They suffered a couple other losses recently, so there was a change in the officer count. This coupled with the fact that we got some newbies, put me in a better position to push the envelope. So, I talked to a day shift supervisor, and told him that I already had a request in, and asked him to look into it. Sure enough, two days later, my Manager came to me and said “two weeks from Monday”. So, officially, I start day shift on Monday the 28th. The boss also said that there was a possibility it would be sooner, but that may or may not happen.

So I’ll be functioning like a normal human being soon. My days will be worked, and I can have my nights off, the way I like it. I will have to go to bed earlier, but it’s going to be pretty cool otherwise. I can see a movie after work, or do some errands if needed if I wanted to now. At this point, I usually rack up a bunch of errands by my days off, and I end up killing my first day on necessary stuff, instead of with relaxation. It’s going to be a pleasant change of pace.

I was looking at my Myspace, and there was an ad for a new George Romero film, and yes, it’s zombie related. The film is called “Diary of the Dead”, and looks pretty damn decent. You can see a trailer here. The official release date is February 15th, if you’re interested in this sort of thing. Personally, I’m a fan, I own all of his movies.

I’ve been playing EQ2 again, but more sporadically than I did before. I used to play in a more “hardcore” fashion, where I’d spent every free moment, losing sleep sometimes, in long sessions. Now I’ve been playing here and there, and not usually for more than an hour or two at a time, which most would call “casual”. It’s been fun though, just dicking around with my toons, not worrying about what anyone else is doing, just actually enjoying the game for what it is; a game. I created two new characters because of a simple realization. This realization comes in two parts though: 1) I realized that I’m not into caster classes (this including healers), I really, really love melee. 2) I thought of a neat pattern.

That latter part sounds kind of retarded, but hear me out.

I really like two races in the game. Dwarves, and Ratonga. One good, one evil. My first toon to 70 was my Dwarven Paladin. Dwarf, Melee, Tank, Good. My second was a Ratonga Brigand. Ratonga, Melee, DPS, Evil. As you can see, these were my favorites out of the countless I’ve made, and their also both melee classes. I’ve always wondered how a high level Shadow Knight would play as compared to my Pally, so I rolled one. I made it a Ratonga, because Dwarves can’t be SK’s unless I betrayed. I also wanted to see how a burst DPS class would be end-game, and my good friend is already an Assassin, so I decided to try out a Ranger. I made him a Dwarf, because their honestly the only good race I like, and I wanted to keep with the pattern.

Dwarf, Melee, Tank, Good.
Ratonga, Melee, DPS, Evil.
Ratonga, Melee, Tank, Evil.
Dwarf, Melee, DPS, Good.

You see the pattern now?

Yeah, that whole last paragraph was retarded, but it made sense before I let it out of my head.

Anyway, I’ve been enjoying things with the new toons, though I haven’t been able to bring myself back to the quest grind of Kunark. I really want to level my Paladin and Brigand up to 80, especially if I do end up leaving EQ2 for WAR, so at least I can say I “beat” the game. I just haven’t been able to do it yet. The SK has been fun, but the Ranger has really been floating my boat, that and I started him in Kelethin, and I’ve never fully completed that zone before… the Fae I made didn’t make the cut.  

That’s about all for now. My weekend is here and I’m going to relax. For those of you who know me in game, The Ranger’s name is Bariz, and the SK is Scabz. Look me up.

One thought on “The Light of Day

Comments are closed.