WAR Newsletter #26

As I mentioned previously, I signed up for the beta for Warhammer Online. Part of the registration included signing up for the monthly newsletter, which I gladly did. I can’t seem to get enough info regarding the game, and the more I learn about it, the more I can’t wait to either get into the beta or for the game to be released (or both).

It seems the newsletter has been going for quite a while, but this is my first, and there was a bit covered. Here’s the brief list:

  • Video Production Podcast – covered RvR and Fortifications/Siege Weaponry.
  • Career Mastery Q&A – If you’re a EQ vet, think Achievements.
  • Producer Letter to Beta Participants – Didn’t watch this one, not in beta.
  • New Career; Dark Elf Disciple – Sounds like a mix between a necro and a shaman.
  • First Look; Dark Elf Sorceror/Sorceress – Didn’t watch this one.
  • Zone Overview; Ellyrion – Some cool art.
  • Then some ads for getting in beta and clothing.

The points I really want to focus on here is the career mastery, and the RvR balancing. One of EQ2’s major downfalls (in my opinion) is that the game separated PvE and PvP content; putting each on different servers. The lackluster Arena (which was pretty much unused since the expansion after it was released) is the only PvP area on PvE servers, and on PvP servers, it’s nearly impossible to enjoy PvE content without getting ganked over an over. Personally I enjoy PvP, and I would like to be able to participate in it when I want, and do general questing/xping when I want. In EQ2, this is impossible. In WAR, some of the very concepts myself and other PvPers discussed on forums and in game, are being implemented. Apparently, Mythic has been doing PvP this way since DAoC, though I never played the game.

WAR is going to have open world PvP, though there’s going to be more to it than just seeing an enemy player, and ganking them. More to it than getting a group or raid together to go to opposing territory and ganking other groups or raids. There’s a lot more going on here. There will be capture points, and as a faction captures certain areas, fortifications will be built upon the point. Higher tiered forts will be manned by NPC guards, that will hold the fort for you while you are out and about. When the forts get large enough, opposing factions will need siege weaponry to break into them, and it will take a lot more effort to take the objective down. So open world PvP is a lot more complex in this game.

There will also be instanced PvP, but they’re working towards a balance so that each PvP mode is desireable to earn “Victory Points”. Apparently there is a point system used for all RvR combat, and factions earn points to earn the right to sack an enemy city. Sounds like it’s going to be really fucking cool when it’s all settled. PvE quests will also play a role in earning victory points, so those folks who suck at PvP and are afraid of the gankfest, can still contribute to the overall victory of their faction. Sounds like balance is a high priority for the devs!

The career mastery system also sounds pretty cool. Upon a certain experience level, players will gain 1 mastery point per level gained to distribute in a tree, which will enhance available abilities, or provide new ones. The system is complex, and I don’t quite understand all of the intricacies yet, but I will figure them out in time. For now, suffice to say there’s going to be a fair deal of character customization in WAR. It is a bit of a double edged sword, though. In EQ2, you can gain multiple Achievement Points (the equivalent) per level, provided you do enough things that rewards AA XP. Having sub-skill points earned like experience is a cool idea, and is nice if you know what you’re doing. However, if you don’t, then you may end up far behind in the end, thusly it can be a pain. Having the points given to you every time you level, means that everyone will be on a balanced playing field throughout the game, as everyone will have the same amount of points as their level. The only bad side, is that you have to wait a whole level before getting another point. Both methods have their pros and cons, but I’m thinking for a RvR centric game, WAR has done the right thing leveling the playing field.

That’s all that I really care to comment on as far as the newsletter goes. If you haven’t signed up, and all this is interesting to you, visit the WAR website and sign up.

I’ve been doing some research on the table-top Warhammer game, and I’ve found some online stores that are selling the goods for a better price than the official Games Workshop site. I also used the GW Store-Finder, and found out that a store here in town carries the products. I’m planning to head over there and check out the stock this weekend, because I really want to get started with the game. The part I can’t figure out, is whether I’d like to buy the Rulebook, and read up on it, or buy some miniatures and paint them. Both would be entertaining, but I need both to play the game, and I’m not sure I have the cash to spare at the moment. Ah, predicaments.