The Race to Kunark

So as we all know, SOE decided to grace us with 50% extra xp gain yesterday, and this will be happening again next Sunday. An added bonus to this, was that the national time change occurred last night, granting an extra hour for the event. I took advantage of this, and it was a noticeable difference.

I started out my night on my Brigand, finishing off the Barren Sky timeline. I also picked up and started the Hoo’loh’s signature quest “Blood of the Brood”, finishing off the first couple steps. I had some quests for the Loping Plains lingering in my journal, and I was planning to head there next, but there was a call for extra dps in Sanctum of Scale, so I decided to head there instead. I popped an experience potion, and along with my vitality and the bonus event, I was netting almost triple xp gain. I flew through level 62, dinging 63 in about an hour. We managed to take out a few named, and I managed to snag a wizzy master that was selling for about 7 plat when I checked the broker later on. That will go towards my Warg fun, since I spent all my cash on gear when I hit level 62.

One irritating thing happened while in SoS though. I rarely run a parser, but just for shits I had ACT running last night. Now from what I’ve seen in groups, there are two kinds of people when it comes to parsing. There are the types that want to see the parse after every single fight (my guild does this during raids, but in a separate channel). The other type would prefer to see a parse sporadically, to avoid all the spam. But, to be courteous, not knowing what kind of people were in this group, I did sporadic parses. After a while, the warlock called me out, saying I was “lame”. He went on to say that I would only post parses in which I did well. This wasn’t the case, and I tried to explain, but he wasn’t having it. I said something along the lines of “we’re not trying to find out who has the biggest dick here”, and he finally shut up about it. Still, it pissed me off. I’m not a braggart, and I surely don’t care if my dps was up to snuff for this group. I was simply toying around with the program. Some people are too quick to judge.

So Kunark is less than ten days away, and I have seven levels to gain in a short amount of time. I have a feeling I might not make it to 70 before the expansion like I so confidently declared a couple months ago. Though you can go into the expansion at 65, so I don’t really have to be there, but I was hoping to get into some T7 instances and raids before the cap increase. I’m going to try my best to get there, but it might not happen. Despite the fact that I made a lot of progress at certain stages, I took breaks here and there so it ended up taking nearly as long to get the Brig to 70 as it did my Paladin. But, in the long run, I experienced different things along the way, and it was just as fun playing through the game a second time. I’m in the process of doing it a 3rd time with my little fury, but he’s still primarily on the back burner. Nonetheless, the game still has me sucked in, and I don’t think that will change anytime soon.