Blaqk Audio

A couple days after my last post about this cd, the record store where I ordered it called me and said it had arrived. I made sure to stop by and pick it up before I had to go to work. I listened to it on the way to work, and at work for most of the first day, as I was driving the unit and had the opportunity.

It’s been a couple more days, and I have a first impression.

I opened this cd with an open mind. I had only heard 2 of the songs from the record on the band’s myspace page, and those I liked. Those remain my favorites, and I understand why those were the ones they posted. The two songs in question, are “Stiff Kittens”, and “Bitter for Sweet”. These are both examples of how great these guys could be as a band/group, but then we get into some more stereotypical “techno” on other parts of the album.

Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not for or against techno. Some I like, some I don’t. I take each song as is, and if I like it, fine, if not I move on. Being a huge AFI fan weighed on my decision to get this cd, because I have all their albums, and I’ve purchased other side projects they’ve done in the past (Son of Sam, even Tiger Army could be considered one). Being loyal is something I just do with bands. And if I hear members of a band I like are doing a side project, I’ll give it a listen. Because I was impressed with the two songs on their myspace, I bought the record. I am not disappointed.

Granted, as I said some of the songs are in a typcial techno fashion, they still don’t disappoint, mainly because Davey sings on every song. This seperates them from other electronic acts, as most rely on the music alone to convey their message. Davey’s lyrics are definitely different than I’m used to. Gone is the dark, somber tone, and it’s replaced by lyrics that are heated, with a sexuality to them that I have yet to see from him. This is definitely the closest thing to a pop album I’ve ever bought, but it’s still obscure enough that not every teeniebopper out there will have it.

If you are a fan of electronic music in any fashion (Nine Inch Nails, Depeche Mode, The Crystal Method, Prodigy, other electronica), you will not be disappointed with this disc. They have some of the best beats I’ve heard, even if some of it is a bit like Darude’s “Sandstorm”. Or if you’re just a fan of Davey, you can see him in a whole new light. Either way, it’s something I recommend to you, dear reader.

One thought on “Blaqk Audio

  1. I have to say…as a Depeche Mode fan you peaked my interest with the comparison in the last paragraph…clicked the MySpace link and checked it out.

    WOW!

    Had never heard of them before…but within a couple minutes of me listening to the two songs on their site, I was in iTunes grabbing the CD 🙂

    Thanks for the suggestion!

    Like

Comments are closed.