(Co)Heed This

I was dicking around on the internet this morning, and I found some interesting stuff, all Coheed related.

First up, most fans of the band realize that their songs make up a story about fictional characters, created by Claudio Sanchez, the singer/guitarist. This isn’t something I realized when I first discovered the band in ’03, but is something I figured out in time, though I never really knew much about the story. My own interpretations of what each song meant added up to relation to myself, or my experiences. Most bands make songs that either have a set meaning, or are left open for interpretation by the listener. Coheed is one of the few bands that do both at the same time. The casual listener can enjoy, and relate on a personal level, though the songs have a set meaning. As far as I can tell, Claudio has never sat down and given the literal meaning of the lyrics to the songs, though he is doing so through the comics that are being released by him. The best interpretation that I’ve found so far was on the Cobalt & Calcium site. If you are a fan of the band, and really don’t know the story behind the songs, I suggest you head over there are read this.

Also, the official tracklisting of the new Coheed record, entitled “Dear Apollo, I’m Burning Star IV Volume I: From Fear Through the Eyes of Madness”, has been released and here it is:

1. Keeping The Blade (2:09)
2. Always and Never (2:24)
3. Welcome Home (6:17)
4. Ten Speed (Of God’s Blood and Burial) (3:47)
5. Crossing The Frame (3:27)
6. Apollo I: The Writing Writer (5:15)
7. Once Upon Your Dead Body (3:19)
8. Wake Up (3:36)
9. The Suffering (3:44)
10. The Lying Lies & Dirty Secrets of Miss Erica Court (3:17)
11. Mother May I (4:32)
12. The Willing Well I: Fuel For The Feeding End (7:17)
13. The Willing Well II: Fear Through The Eyes of Madness (7:28)
14. The Willing Well III: Apollo I: The Telling Truth (7:19)
15. The Willing Well IV: The Final Cut (7:40)

The song titles alone intrigue me. I’m wondering how the story is going to unfold in this album. I’m also quite happy with the fact that many of the songs are quite a bit longer than on previous albums. The longer the song the better when it comes to them, in my opinion. September 20th cannot come fast enough.

And just because this post is relatively short, here’s the lyrics to the only released song, “Welcome Home”:

“Welcome Home” – Coheed and Cambria
You could have been all I wanted
But you weren’t honest
Now get in the ground
You choked off the short list of favors
But if you really loved me
You would have endured my will

Well if you’re just, as I presumed
A whore in sheep’s clothing
Fucking up all i do

The end, if so here we stop,
Then never again will you see
This in your life

Hang on to the glory at my right hand
Here lay to rest is a love ever long
With truth on the shores of confession
You seem to take privilege to all of these souls.

You stormed off to start the armada
Like Jesus played matyr
I’ll drill through your hands
The stone for the curse you have blamed me

With love and devotion I’ll die as you sleep
But if you could just write me out
To never mis-wonder her happy will I become
Be true that this is no option
So with it condemn you demon raiding in love.

Hang on to the glory at my right hand
Here lay to rest is a love ever long
With truth on the shores of confession
You seem to take privilege to all of these souls.

One last kiss for you
One more wish to you
Please make up your mind girl
I’d do anything for you

One last kiss for you
One more wish to you
Please make up your mind girl
Before I hope you die