What now?

Blaugust ended yesterday, and it seems that the majority of blogs that I read have taken a deep breath, and are taking a break. I was among those that felt I wouldn’t write anything today. But here I am anyway.

It’s funny, I never thought that I’d see the day that I wrote a post every day for such a long time, but as this measurement was quantifiable (we knew there was a start date, and and end date) it wasn’t too hard to visualize posting for a month straight. Now that it’s over, I find myself still thinking about “what to write today?”

There were days during Blaugust that I didn’t feel like I had anything to write about, but then I’d crank something out anyway. Normally when I don’t feel the desire to post, I don’t. That has had the positive effect of keeping me away from filler or fluff posts. The negative effect can been seen in my archive, where sometimes I’d let that way of thinking get the best of me for long periods of time.

There have been over 700 posts for Blaugust, and I’d say that’s a success by any measurement. If you missed out or were not a participant, there’s a lot to read, and you can find it all on the Blaugust Nook.

Today, Belghast, the creator of the event has done a wrap up post, where you can see who signed up, completed the challenge, and those who won the prizes for the event. He also created some badges for us, and you can see mine displayed on the sidebar (scroll down a little), beside my award from the NBI.

Many others did a Blaugust wrap up within the last day, my personal favorite being The Mystical Mesmer’s, where he gave out some of his own awards. I was mentioned among his list:

  • The award for Most Prolific Content Generator goes to Izlain of Me Vs. Myself and I. He does so with the modesty and practiced good humor of a traveling air conditioner salesman in central Alaska.

You there, with the white gloves? Can I interest you in a Ketchup Popsicle?

At this point I’m tempted to keep with the blogging every day, but at the same time I know that there will be days I won’t feel like it. I am however, interested in creating another community event in the coming months. I would like to see something that draws the community together every other month or so, that way we aren’t just doing our own things in our own corners of the world, waiting for the next NBI event (or going stagnant). We know that the NBI is scheduled for May, and now we have Blaugust. I’m thinking either October or November is another good month for something new, and Murf has already mentioned Listmas again for December (I didn’t know about it last year, so looking forward to that). Then we just need something for the spring, and we’ll have come full circle back to the next NBI. I’ll keep working on ideas, and maybe we’ll have something new to do in the next couple of months.

#nbi #blaugust #listmas #somethingnew

4 responses to “What now?

  1. I think you and Eri could manage an extension of the NBI weekly gaming contests for an entire month. Maybe something like a ‘Bragtober’ that encourages playing games together, has specific challenges to write about, more streaming to do/follow, etc.

    • I think you’re right. I wanted it to include gaming as well, so you’re on the right track. Will continue to put thought into it and try to get something specific worked out before then.

Leave a Reply

